Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Why not turn it over to Elway instead of Ellis?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Why not turn it over to Elway instead of Ellis?

What am I missing. If elway is the VP why doesn't he take over the Broncos ? I admit I have little knowledge in this department so any info would be great.

Seems to me in reading that Ellis was basically running the show when before Elway took over. We saw were that got us. Elway saved our team once again. Why would we give control back to Ellis ?
    Last edited by Quoydogs; 07-23-2014, 02:34 PM.

Ellis has been acting as the head for a while now, hasn't he? Why is he a dick exactly?

Comment

Because Bowlen owns the team and wants it to stay in his family.

Comment

Originally posted by Quoydogs View Post
        What am I missing. If elway is the VP why doesn't he take over the Broncos ? I admit I have little knowledge in this department so any info would be great.
        I think when it comes to Football, John is the guy. But to uphold the Bowlen model (in contrast to say the Jerry Jones model), you need a layer of separation between ownership and team.

And if you were going to dick with that formula, this would not be the time. One, because of the "win now" product on the field.

And also because once John becomes a defacto owner, there's never any going back. Which would be tough to deal with while the Bowlens begin to try to sort all this out.

It makes sense to keep John's role what it is. At the very least until the team, and the Bowlens themselves enter a more transition-friendly period.

Really sad for Pat though that we didn't put it together for him last year. Guy should have gone out on top, on his own terms.

Comment

Ellis has been team president since 2011. It was evident this was coming when it was Ellis representing the broncos during this years owners meetings. Id rather see Elways attention on GM/VP duties. Stay the course.

Comment