The Orange Mane -  a Denver Broncos Fan Community  

Go Back   The Orange Mane - a Denver Broncos Fan Community > Jibba Jabba > Off Topics Forum
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Chat Room Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-07-2017, 11:05 PM   #1
LoserSlick
Ring of Famer
 
New to the Forum

Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 1,371

Adopt-a-Bronco:
None
Default NEED HELP: are there any IT professionals out there?

so three or so years ago an idiot friend helped me set up a home server (which i no longer have) - for the last two years i've just had a normal desktop pc

the guy created a very lewd wifi name to try and be funny

i created a new one one on my own and "thought" i had gotten rid of the other one... but apparently it's still posting

i just got a complaint from the neighbor (lol the wifi name is pretty terrible) and i cannot for the life of me figure out where to find this thing!!!

i put the ip into the url and i feel like i've checked every single nook and cranny at this point

my laptop and smartphone are STILL POSTING IT

thoughts?
LoserSlick is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 11-07-2017, 11:13 PM   #2
OmegaBronco13
Solid Starter
 
New to the Forum

Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 133

Adopt-a-Bronco:
None
Default

It's you router that's broadcasting that wireless name to people within reach of it. You'll need the password to the router to change the broadcast name. Or you can do a factory reset on the physical router. ...the short of it is call your cable company and have them walk you through it.

If you're in a apartment/condo complex, they can't necessarily tie it to you unless you tell them.
OmegaBronco13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2017, 11:18 PM   #3
LongDongJohnson
Ring of Famer
 
BBW's HMU

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 3,013

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Von Miller
Default

Tell your neighbors to **** off
LongDongJohnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2017, 11:36 PM   #4
LoserSlick
Ring of Famer
 
New to the Forum

Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 1,371

Adopt-a-Bronco:
None
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OmegaBronco13 View Post
It's you router that's broadcasting that wireless name to people within reach of it. You'll need the password to the router to change the broadcast name. Or you can do a factory reset on the physical router. ...the short of it is call your cable company and have them walk you through it.

If you're in a apartment/condo complex, they can't necessarily tie it to you unless you tell them.
i live in a neighborhood... but the name really is in poor taste and not something i'd like to keep for... going on four years now?

my router is a netgear duel band (or two channel?). but the name of it doesn't seem to show up anywhere. only the primary ssid shows up
LoserSlick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2017, 12:08 AM   #5
BroncoLifer
Living the Dream
 
BroncoLifer's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Boulder County
Posts: 2,303

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Chris Harris
Default

If you're really can't figure it out and are desperate to change, put the router in the trash and buy a new one. Since it is 3 years old it wouldn't be the biggest loss anyway.
BroncoLifer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2017, 12:23 AM   #6
LoserSlick
Ring of Famer
 
New to the Forum

Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 1,371

Adopt-a-Bronco:
None
Default

turns out comcast modems have built in routers... lol jesus ****ing christ (problem solved)

on to the horses butt!!
LoserSlick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2017, 12:29 AM   #7
LoserSlick
Ring of Famer
 
New to the Forum

Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 1,371

Adopt-a-Bronco:
None
Default

the guy was trying to throw the whole "girls suck at computers" thing in my face, despite the fact that we both knew i was fairly tech savvy for someone with no particular specialization in software/networking

lol now i get why he was being such an a-hole and not telling my how to fix it

pissed max
LoserSlick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2017, 01:50 AM   #8
LongDongJohnson
Ring of Famer
 
BBW's HMU

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 3,013

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Von Miller
Default

How much do you weigh loserslick
LongDongJohnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2017, 03:25 AM   #9
DomCasual
The Mad Dommer!
 
DomCasual's Avatar
 
Shameless Homer

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: SLC, UT
Posts: 17,137

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Pat Bowlen
Default

So, are you really going to make us ask what the name was?
DomCasual is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2017, 04:32 AM   #10
LoserSlick
Ring of Famer
 
New to the Forum

Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 1,371

Adopt-a-Bronco:
None
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LongDongJohnson View Post
How much do you weigh loserslick
135 ave

what a weird question?
LoserSlick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2017, 04:38 AM   #11
LoserSlick
Ring of Famer
 
New to the Forum

Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 1,371

Adopt-a-Bronco:
None
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DomCasual View Post
So, are you really going to make us ask what the name was?
doesn't matter

lol it was just gross

to a point where it reflected poorly on me
LoserSlick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2017, 06:16 AM   #12
4HorSeimian
Ring of Famer
 
4HorSeimian's Avatar
 
Go pound salt Panther Nation!

Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1,868
Default

This is the mane. We are all just a bunch of lube monkeys. Sorry.














And WTF WAS THE NAME? YOU HAVE GOT TO BE KIDDING ME!
4HorSeimian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2017, 06:30 AM   #13
ColoradoDarin
Busting off 2k
 
ColoradoDarin's Avatar
 
Since 1986

Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Wilson, NC
Posts: 18,130
Default

Have you tried turning it off and turning it back on again?


(yes I know you already solved it)


(also, come on, what's the name already)


(wait, you're a girl? show us ur 80085)
ColoradoDarin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2017, 07:02 AM   #14
jmz313
Ring of Famer
 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,016
Default

Name please? I work in IT and Have to help cover email helpdesk calls. Some of the **** these people use from email addresses and Passwords is hilarious.

3 weeks ago The dude had to tell me his password which ended up being F___herrightintheP69. "FU" is a common one too. reset email address for one dude was something along the lines of wineherdineher69her@something.

People are amazing. i just use like my name.
jmz313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2017, 07:10 AM   #15
Powderaddict
Saw Lady Gaga
 
Powderaddict's Avatar
 
Sissies Ite Domum!

Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Granada Nicaragua
Posts: 4,365

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Von Miller
Default

You cant start a thread like this and not tell us the name.
Powderaddict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2017, 07:17 AM   #16
OmegaBronco13
Solid Starter
 
New to the Forum

Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 133

Adopt-a-Bronco:
None
Default

I know a guy who was sending his resume out from an email account with a crazy name. He had no idea that's why people weren't getting back to him. Clueless.
OmegaBronco13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2017, 07:34 AM   #17
broncolife
Nut Hugger Detector
 
broncolife's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Escondido, CA
Posts: 4,685

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Andy Janovich
Default

Everybody floats down here
broncolife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2017, 07:41 AM   #18
LoserSlick
Ring of Famer
 
New to the Forum

Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 1,371

Adopt-a-Bronco:
None
Default

lol sorry, gonna have to keep this one a mystery

here's a a couple good ones (and by good i mean bad) that i found with a quick google search:

"spread my butt cheaks for shrek"

"2 girls 1 router"

lol mine was worse than both.

and my neighbors know damn well which house it was coming from
LoserSlick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2017, 07:46 AM   #19
BroncoFox
Cheervixen
 
BroncoFox's Avatar
 
If I have fleas.. they are happy.

Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 4,096
Default

I had to do this recently, cause I wanted faster wireless (switching from 2.4 to 5ghz made it loads faster, has better range I think), because my iPad was super slow in my room. So someone at work wrote me up instructions. I also changed my password to something more fun! To change it...

- From your computer, click on start. Type cmd
- Type ipconfig /all and hit enter
- Look for the network connection with all the info. Find the default gateway - probably ends in a .1 - that will be your router with the wireless most likely
- Browse to that address - password may be on the bottom of your router, but if not, google the model, it probably has a default admin and password logon
- Once logged in, go to your wireless settings. There you can switch to 5Ghz - make sure all your devices support 5Ghz. You can change your wireless passwords for both 2.4 and 5Ghz.

And that was it.. I did the above and I changed password and made it faster. If I can do it.. aannyyone can do it. =)
BroncoFox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2017, 07:47 AM   #20
A Defiant Goose
Ring of Famer
 
A Defiant Goose's Avatar
 
Now give me back my avatar!

Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Titletown USA
Posts: 2,852

Adopt-a-Bronco:
None
Default

The solution is pretty much in post 1. Get into the router and change the SSID to something else. If you can't get into the router or figure out how to change that, just restore it to factory defaults. Should be some type of little button on the router that you can press with a pin to do it or something like that
A Defiant Goose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2017, 07:52 AM   #21
Eldorado
2014-2015 OM ATS champion
 
Eldorado's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2,522

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Shaq Barrett
Default

Guys, she fixed it. Move on.
Eldorado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2017, 07:54 AM   #22
BroncoFox
Cheervixen
 
BroncoFox's Avatar
 
If I have fleas.. they are happy.

Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 4,096
Default

But we want to help more! Guess reading the entire thread would have helped. =(
BroncoFox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2017, 07:55 AM   #23
LoserSlick
Ring of Famer
 
New to the Forum

Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 1,371

Adopt-a-Bronco:
None
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by A Defiant Goose View Post
The solution is pretty much in post 1. Get into the router and change the SSID to something else. If you can't get into the router or figure out how to change that, just restore it to factory defaults. Should be some type of little button on the router that you can press with a pin to do it or something like that
problem was i'd already installed my self-purchased router when the comcast guy failed to mention the new modem he gave wasn't a modem but a modem/router... and THAT is where my immature idiot friend set up the wife name (which i never use)

problem fixed
LoserSlick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2017, 07:55 AM   #24
LoserSlick
Ring of Famer
 
New to the Forum

Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 1,371

Adopt-a-Bronco:
None
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BroncoFox View Post
But we want to help more! Guess reading the entire thread would have helped. =(
LoserSlick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2017, 08:03 AM   #25
A Defiant Goose
Ring of Famer
 
A Defiant Goose's Avatar
 
Now give me back my avatar!

Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Titletown USA
Posts: 2,852

Adopt-a-Bronco:
None
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eldorado View Post
Guys, she fixed it. Move on.
Like a girl in an engineering class with a problem...all the guys need to come fix it.

I personally just didn't see the (problem solved) bit lol
A Defiant Goose is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:23 PM.


Denver Broncos