The Orange Mane -  a Denver Broncos Fan Community  

Go Back   The Orange Mane - a Denver Broncos Fan Community > Orange Mane Discussion > Orange Mane Central Discussion
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Chat Room Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-12-2010, 06:24 PM   #1
Broncoman13
Broncoholic
 
Broncoman13's Avatar
 
JT #80

Join Date: May 2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 16,842

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Orange Julius
Default Electricians... any on the board?

I need some help... please let me know. Nothing major, just changing out a 220 receptacle with another 220 but going from 30a to 20a.
Broncoman13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 05-12-2010, 06:40 PM   #2
TailgateNut
Bleedin' orange!
 
TailgateNut's Avatar
 
.......as much as tebonites

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mile High
Posts: 20,150

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Howard Griffith
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Broncoman13 View Post
I need some help... please let me know. Nothing major, just changing out a 220 receptacle with another 220 but going from 30a to 20a.

More input please.
TailgateNut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 07:03 PM   #3
Broncoman13
Broncoholic
 
Broncoman13's Avatar
 
JT #80

Join Date: May 2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 16,842

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Orange Julius
Default

Dryer conversion to 20A for Tanning Bed?

How difficult of a process is this? The Tanning Bed calls for the following:

Amperage Dawn - 16

Circuit Needed - 20

Required Voltage - 235

Required Receptacle - NEMA 6-20


Is it as simple as removing the four prong receptacle and installing the 20A three prong (6-20) receptacle? Do I need to change anything else such as the breakers? And, is this a project that I can do myself relatively easy?
Broncoman13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 07:11 PM   #4
cmhargrove
Is this thing on???
 
cmhargrove's Avatar
 
Travis Henry's love child...

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 6,723

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Peyton Hillis
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Broncoman13 View Post
Dryer conversion to 20A for Tanning Bed?

How difficult of a process is this? The Tanning Bed calls for the following:

Amperage Dawn - 16

Circuit Needed - 20

Required Voltage - 235

Required Receptacle - NEMA 6-20


Is it as simple as removing the four prong receptacle and installing the 20A three prong (6-20) receptacle? Do I need to change anything else such as the breakers? And, is this a project that I can do myself relatively easy?
Yes, there is no need to change the breaker - a breaker rating is about maximum capacity before the breaker would trip. Therefore, a 30amp breaker will do your job just fine - no need to change it.

So, as long as you flip the breaker, then make sure to double check the outlet for current, then it is as simple as replacing one outlet type with another.

It is a relatively easy project, and it sounds like you are only working with one dedicated breaker / circuit, so it's hard to screw it up. If you have any questions, do the following:
1. first turn off the breaker
2. Open the existing outlet (making a diagram of all the connections).
3. Then, take the diagram to your neighborhoood Lowes and ask them how to wire your new outlet correctly (making sure you have properly identified both the "hot" wires and know where to connect them to the new outlet configuration.

It shouldn't be too difficult if you're handy. Otherwise, just call Tebow, I hear he can do just abouut anything...
cmhargrove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 07:16 PM   #5
Dukes
Ring of Famer
 
Dukes's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 6,163
Default



"Doing the whole house 220?"

"220, 221. Whatever it takes"

Last edited by Dukes; 05-12-2010 at 07:30 PM..
Dukes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 07:18 PM   #6
Broncoman13
Broncoholic
 
Broncoman13's Avatar
 
JT #80

Join Date: May 2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 16,842

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Orange Julius
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmhargrove View Post
Yes, there is no need to change the breaker - a breaker rating is about maximum capacity before the breaker would trip. Therefore, a 30amp breaker will do your job just fine - no need to change it.

So, as long as you flip the breaker, then make sure to double check the outlet for current, then it is as simple as replacing one outlet type with another.

It is a relatively easy project, and it sounds like you are only working with one dedicated breaker / circuit, so it's hard to screw it up. If you have any questions, do the following:
1. first turn off the breaker
2. Open the existing outlet (making a diagram of all the connections).
3. Then, take the diagram to your neighborhoood Lowes and ask them how to wire your new outlet correctly (making sure you have properly identified both the "hot" wires and know where to connect them to the new outlet configuration.

It shouldn't be too difficult if you're handy. Otherwise, just call Tebow, I hear he can do just abouut anything...

What about the Tanning Bed needing 235... is that an issue?

Thanks for the post, VERY helpful.
Broncoman13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 07:21 PM   #7
theAPAOps5
A new beginning!
 
theAPAOps5's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 30,294

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Watermock - RIP
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dukes View Post


"Doing the whole house 220?"

"220, 221. Whatever it takes"
Damn it! I was coming here to post that and you beat me to it. Golf clap for you sir!
theAPAOps5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 07:23 PM   #8
theAPAOps5
A new beginning!
 
theAPAOps5's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 30,294

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Watermock - RIP
Default

Dude a tanning bed? Tebow does not approve of your sexual preference......
theAPAOps5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 07:25 PM   #9
Broncoman13
Broncoholic
 
Broncoman13's Avatar
 
JT #80

Join Date: May 2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 16,842

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Orange Julius
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by McApaOps5 View Post
Dude a tanning bed? Tebow does not approve of your sexual preference......
Hahaha... not for me. I sport the farmers tan from mowing the lawn
Broncoman13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 07:43 PM   #10
Atwater His Ass
Ring of Famer
 
Atwater His Ass's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 5,751

Adopt-a-Bronco:
None
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmhargrove View Post
Yes, there is no need to change the breaker - a breaker rating is about maximum capacity before the breaker would trip. Therefore, a 30amp breaker will do your job just fine - no need to change it.
Although this will work, it is a safety issue both for potential personnel and equipment damage.

If something is malfunctioning within the equipment casuing a current draw greater than 20A, you need to know about it prior to damage or injury occuring.

Change out the breaker to a 20A breaker.
Atwater His Ass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 08:49 PM   #11
Taco John
24/7 Broncos
 
Taco John's Avatar
 
All Hail King Midas

Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 50,486

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Peyton Manning
Default

Well sh*t. They're installing effing tanning beds over at Alex's pad.
Taco John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 08:56 PM   #12
baja
Happy camper
 
baja's Avatar
 
Sweet

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: in the present moment
Posts: 59,999

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Ware
Default

You're down sizing, just change the wires to the approbate prongs on the new receptacle and pop in the new (smaller in AMPS) breaker. Good to go.
baja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 09:01 PM   #13
theAPAOps5
A new beginning!
 
theAPAOps5's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 30,294

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Watermock - RIP
Default

Yeah I am no electrician but it seems to me that if you are dropping down in amps its no big deal. Just go to Home Depot and get a 20A and then rewire. All you are doing is inserting a safe guard that will pop sooner given a spike.
theAPAOps5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 10:13 PM   #14
Broncoman13
Broncoholic
 
Broncoman13's Avatar
 
JT #80

Join Date: May 2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 16,842

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Orange Julius
Default

Alright... was wondering if I needed to change out the CBs. Was advised to change'm out to two pole 20a. Works for me. I hate working with electricity. Even after you turn that shiat off all the way it's still gonna find a way to shock your ass somehow.
Broncoman13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 10:16 PM   #15
baja
Happy camper
 
baja's Avatar
 
Sweet

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: in the present moment
Posts: 59,999

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Ware
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Broncoman13 View Post
Alright... was wondering if I needed to change out the CBs. Was advised to change'm out to two pole 20a. Works for me. I hate working with electricity. Even after you turn that shiat off all the way it's still gonna find a way to shock your ass somehow.
Be sure to stand in water and leave the breakers in the on position while you work it will teach you to focus.
baja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 11:06 PM   #16
Broncoman13
Broncoholic
 
Broncoman13's Avatar
 
JT #80

Join Date: May 2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 16,842

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Orange Julius
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by baja View Post
Be sure to stand in water and leave the breakers in the on position while you work it will teach you to focus.
Thanks... Friend!
Broncoman13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 11:28 PM   #17
baja
Happy camper
 
baja's Avatar
 
Sweet

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: in the present moment
Posts: 59,999

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Ware
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Broncoman13 View Post
Thanks... Friend!
Wax on Wax off
baja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 07:02 AM   #18
TailgateNut
Bleedin' orange!
 
TailgateNut's Avatar
 
.......as much as tebonites

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mile High
Posts: 20,150

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Howard Griffith
Default

From what I understand You are changing a Single phase 125/250V 30Amp service with a 3 pole 4 wire run (2 pos/1neutral/ground) with either 12 or 10AWG wire to a single phase double pole 250V 20Amp service which requires a 14AWG or better 3 wire run.

If you have no experience I strongly suggest paying the small fee to have an electrician do the work.

You can do it yourself but be sure you follow code!
TailgateNut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 07:10 AM   #19
That One Guy
Producer of Nonsense
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sun and Beachville
Posts: 14,066

Adopt-a-Bronco:
None
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TailgateNut View Post
From what I understand You are changing a Single phase 125/250V 30Amp service with a 3 pole 4 wire run (2 pos/1neutral/ground) with either 12 or 10AWG wire to a single phase double pole 250V 20Amp service which requires a 14AWG or better 3 wire run.

If you have no experience I strongly suggest paying the small fee to have an electrician do the work.

You can do it yourself but be sure you follow code!
All that looks like code to me.

Just jam a screwdriver in there and start prying. Professionals are there to fix the job after we try it ourselves first. And if you're going to get shocked anyways, just skip the silly little part about turning off the electricity.

And most importantly, ignore me.
That One Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 07:51 AM   #20
TailgateNut
Bleedin' orange!
 
TailgateNut's Avatar
 
.......as much as tebonites

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mile High
Posts: 20,150

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Howard Griffith
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by That One Guy View Post
All that looks like code to me.

Just jam a screwdriver in there and start prying. Professionals are there to fix the job after we try it ourselves first. And if you're going to get shocked anyways, just skip the silly little part about turning off the electricity.

And most importantly, ignore me.
To do the job he wis attemting, he will have to replace circuit breakers and do some wiring in his panel. Unless he has a separate disconnect, he will trip the main breaker in the panel, but there will still be "JUICE" in the panel where he will be re-wiring the new breaker, and most likely this will be a 220V 100A + service panel.

Pur your finger or a screwdriver int he wrong place, and you'll get a new "Hairdo".
TailgateNut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 07:55 AM   #21
crawdad
IL Oldest Bronco Maniac
 
crawdad's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Decatur, IL
Posts: 5,126

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Bay Bay
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TailgateNut View Post
To do the job he wis attemting, he will have to replace circuit breakers and do some wiring in his panel. Unless he has a separate disconnect, he will trip the main breaker in the panel, but there will still be "JUICE" in the panel where he will be re-wiring the new breaker, and most likely this will be a 220V 100A + service panel.

Pur your finger or a screwdriver int he wrong place, and you'll get a new "Hairdo".
crawdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 07:57 AM   #22
kcbroncofan
Just Drafted
 

Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 27
Default

You don't need to change the breaker as long as the wire going to it is #10 or larger. Your bed will work just fine at 208.
kcbroncofan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 08:09 AM   #23
TailgateNut
Bleedin' orange!
 
TailgateNut's Avatar
 
.......as much as tebonites

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mile High
Posts: 20,150

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Howard Griffith
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kcbroncofan View Post
You don't need to change the breaker as long as the wire going to it is #10 or larger. Your bed will work just fine at 208.
3-Pole to 2 Pole. Nuff said.

I'll stay out of it now. Just spit on your hands and use plenty of duct tape.
TailgateNut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 08:12 AM   #24
baja
Happy camper
 
baja's Avatar
 
Sweet

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: in the present moment
Posts: 59,999

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Ware
Default

sell the stupid bed and buy a ticket to cabo you can stay at my house or on the ranch 13.
baja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 09:28 AM   #25
Pony Boy
"Whoa Nellie"
 
Pony Boy's Avatar
 
Omaha !!!

Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,646

Adopt-a-Bronco:
mellon head
Default

I've heard they have some really nice 110 growing lamps now.........you don't have to go with a 220 tanning bed.
Pony Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:45 AM.


Denver Broncos