The Orange Mane -  a Denver Broncos Fan Community  

Go Back   The Orange Mane - a Denver Broncos Fan Community > Orange Mane Discussion > Orange Mane Central Discussion > Maniac Community Discussion
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Chat Room Mark Forums Read

Old 02-03-2010, 12:16 PM   #1
Requiem
~~~

~ ~ ~

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Princes of Tara
Default Advice Sought for Future After Undergraduate

Hello Maners, first of all I'd like to thank you for viewing the thread and a big thanks in advance to anyone who offers advice. To me, this is a pretty serious situation and would love to hear from anyone who has additional advice or suggestions.

This May I will be receiving my undergraduate degree, a Bachelor's of Science in the field of Political Science with an additional major in Anthropology. [Thus, double major.] I've been scouting the job market, and it seems like there are some real options doing non-profit and government work, and anything in between. I'm a good student, have worked for four different departments on my campus and have a wealth of references and experience to put on resume's and CV's. Not trying to sound pretentious, but my time spent as an undergraduate wasn't typical, that is to say that I did more than just "study" or "party." -- and was able to make connections with professors, administrators and various workers across campus.

I don't have any doubts that I could land a job within the time I need to start paying back my undergraduate loans. Every year, I've added how much I've taken out or received and placed it into an Excel file to keep tabs of how much I owe. After five years, I am roughly around 30,000 in debt, without figuring the interest or considering options such as consolidation, which I probably will considering all my loans were from the same lender.

In addition to that debt, I have a few thousand dollars on a credit card -- but will hopefully have that paid off.