The Orange Mane -  a Denver Broncos Fan Community  

Go Back   The Orange Mane - a Denver Broncos Fan Community > Orange Mane Discussion > Orange Mane Central Discussion
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Chat Room Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-24-2009, 06:52 PM   #1
HooptyHoops
We need a DE
 
HooptyHoops's Avatar
 
C'mon D

Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: West Des Moines, IA
Posts: 1,591

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Eddie Royal
Default iehelper Help!

OK, I got some stupid sypware on my laptop coming up as iehelper. Does anybody have any background on how to get rid of it? I have Norton, but it says it can't(so much for the anivirus on Norton).

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

**I know, not football related, but I wanted an honest opinion from real people....
HooptyHoops is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 10-24-2009, 06:56 PM   #2
scorpio
Cubicle Pimp
 
scorpio's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 3,502
Default

Try MalwareBytes.
scorpio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2009, 06:56 PM   #3
Bronx33
lets go partner
 
Bronx33's Avatar
 
Rumpson Rocks

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Lakewood,Colo
Posts: 40,525

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Woodyard
Default

http://www.spywareremove.com/removeIeHelperdll.html#
Bronx33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2009, 06:57 PM   #4
broncosteven
Kranz Dictum
 
broncosteven's Avatar
 
Where is Amazon!

Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Tranquility Base
Posts: 35,572

Adopt-a-Bronco:
CJ Anderson!
Default

spybot, download the install and updates to the HD, disconnect your nic card and install, run, immunize, and check for spyware.

Good luck.
broncosteven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2009, 07:06 PM   #5
HooptyHoops
We need a DE
 
HooptyHoops's Avatar
 
C'mon D

Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: West Des Moines, IA
Posts: 1,591

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Eddie Royal
Default

So, have you guys all tried these different ways and it works? Seems like there is so much crap out there...
HooptyHoops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2009, 07:06 PM   #6
HooptyHoops
We need a DE
 
HooptyHoops's Avatar
 
C'mon D

Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: West Des Moines, IA
Posts: 1,591

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Eddie Royal
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by broncosteven View Post
spybot, download the install and updates to the HD, disconnect your nic card and install, run, immunize, and check for spyware.

Good luck.
nic card? I am apparently don't know much about computers....
HooptyHoops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2009, 07:09 PM   #7
broncosteven
Kranz Dictum
 
broncosteven's Avatar
 
Where is Amazon!

Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Tranquility Base
Posts: 35,572

Adopt-a-Bronco:
CJ Anderson!
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HooptyHoops View Post
nic card? I am apparently don't know much about computers....
disconnect from the internet, some spyware replicates outbound or a process hogs your CPU, if it can't hit the URL to run it won't slow down your spybot install.
broncosteven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2009, 07:18 PM   #8
Bronx33
lets go partner
 
Bronx33's Avatar
 
Rumpson Rocks

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Lakewood,Colo
Posts: 40,525

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Woodyard
Default

Spybot should be ran once a week just a great program and it's free.
Bronx33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2009, 04:42 PM   #9
HooptyHoops
We need a DE
 
HooptyHoops's Avatar
 
C'mon D

Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: West Des Moines, IA
Posts: 1,591

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Eddie Royal
Default

Thanks guys...I manually deleted the iehelper.dll while in Safe Mode!! I then got Spybot installed and working on my computer so everything is back to normal!! I just wanted to say thanks to everybody and I really do appreciate your help!!
HooptyHoops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2009, 04:44 PM   #10
JCMElway
Moderate-erator
 
JCMElway's Avatar
 
Dominate!

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 7,269

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Oleg
Default

My advice? Dump IE and install Firefox as your browser ASAP!
JCMElway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2009, 04:46 PM   #11
Mr. Elway
cakn patna
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 965
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JCMElway View Post
My advice? Dump IE and install Firefox as your browser ASAP!
If you really believe that a piece of spyware named iehelper.exe has anything to do with running IE, you should probably stop offering computer tips.
Mr. Elway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2009, 04:50 PM   #12
HooptyHoops
We need a DE
 
HooptyHoops's Avatar
 
C'mon D

Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: West Des Moines, IA
Posts: 1,591

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Eddie Royal
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Elway View Post
If you really believe that a piece of spyware named iehelper.exe has anything to do with running IE, you should probably stop offering computer tips.
Exactly...I have both on my system, and that stupid virus just totally shut down my entire system...EVERYTHING, including Firefox...just, very annoying!!
HooptyHoops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2009, 05:03 PM   #13
Mr. Elway
cakn patna
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 965
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HooptyHoops View Post
Exactly...I have both on my system, and that stupid virus just totally shut down my entire system...EVERYTHING, including Firefox...just, very annoying!!
Yeah you will get spyware the same way as any other virus: By unwittingly allowing a piece of malicious software to install itself. It can happen via email, browsing the wrong site, downloading what you believe to be safe content or software.
Mr. Elway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2009, 06:52 PM   #14
Pony Boy
"Whoa Nellie"
 
Pony Boy's Avatar
 
Omaha !!!

Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,649

Adopt-a-Bronco:
mellon head
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HooptyHoops View Post
Thanks guys...I manually deleted the iehelper.dll while in Safe Mode!! I then got Spybot installed and working on my computer so everything is back to normal!! I just wanted to say thanks to everybody and I really do appreciate your help!!
Stop downloading Porno .............
Pony Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2009, 07:32 PM   #15
broncosteven
Kranz Dictum
 
broncosteven's Avatar
 
Where is Amazon!

Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Tranquility Base
Posts: 35,572

Adopt-a-Bronco:
CJ Anderson!
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HooptyHoops View Post
Thanks guys...I manually deleted the iehelper.dll while in Safe Mode!! I then got Spybot installed and working on my computer so everything is back to normal!! I just wanted to say thanks to everybody and I really do appreciate your help!!
Rep is a nice way to thank people who took the time to help.

Just saying...
broncosteven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2009, 08:15 PM   #16
DenverBound
Thanks for the memories
 
DenverBound's Avatar
 
This one's for Pat!

Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 969
Default

After you get rid of your problem you should really look in to ESET NOD32. I absolutely love it. It updates virus databases every ten minutes it seems. I have not had any problems since the install and I frequent some pretty nasty sites.

EDIT: Forgot... The biggest perk is that it is not nearly as heavy as other protection programs out there.

Last edited by DenverBound; 10-25-2009 at 08:18 PM..
DenverBound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2009, 08:21 PM   #17
Broncotilldeath
Rookie
 
New to the Forum

Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 60

Adopt-a-Bronco:
None
Default

Start over and reformat get a clean image of windows on a disk and just reimage if it happens again.
Broncotilldeath is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:36 PM.


Denver Broncos