The Orange Mane -  a Denver Broncos Fan Community  

Go Back   The Orange Mane - a Denver Broncos Fan Community > Orange Mane Discussion > Orange Mane Central Discussion
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Chat Room Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-19-2009, 08:55 PM   #1
RhymesayersDU
Go Broncos, Nuggets, Rox
 
RhymesayersDU's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Back In The 303!
Posts: 14,965

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Ty Lawson
Default Are The Broncos & Chargers Destined To Have Shenanigans During Games?

So hear me out here. I'm not trying to say we shouldn't have won, I'm not trying to dampen the mood, etc. I'm really not.

But doesn't anybody find it odd that last year there was a blown call, and this year (IMO) there was one? I personally don't think Stokley was in. I'm glad we won, and considering how our defense was playing there's no guarantee the Chargers would have come back to tie (assuming we kick a FG) or stop us on 4th if we go for it.

I just see the situations are being so similar, very parallel to each other, etc.

Again, not trying to be a wet blanket. This stuff is wild. Perhaps Broncos/Chargers will always have wild endings, etc, while these players are on the respective teams?
RhymesayersDU is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 10-19-2009, 08:56 PM   #2
Inkana7
Ring of Famer
 
Inkana7's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 8,341

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Derek Wolfe
Default

You think that McDaniels hesitates for a second not to sneak it in from the 1/2 inch line?

But I think that call was correct.
Inkana7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 08:57 PM   #3
STBumpkin
burnin' it at both ends
 
STBumpkin's Avatar
 
Livin' The Dream

Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bowie, MD
Posts: 753

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Rod Smith
Default

We would have knocked it in on 4th down anyway. Non issue.
STBumpkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 08:58 PM   #4
epicSocialism4tw
Tebowing the long haul
 
all the way to the title

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: TX, USA
Posts: 36,819

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Champ Bailey
Default

We beat their butts on their own turf.

It didnt matter if Stoke was an inch short of the end zone on that play or not, the Broncos were taking that game from the Chargers play after play.
epicSocialism4tw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 08:59 PM   #5
Kid A
Ring of Famer
 
Kid A's Avatar
 
I don't need love. I just need wins

Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 5,249

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Rahim Moore
Default

Based on the placement of his feet right when he caught the ball (his heels were past the line on the blue paint) and the positioning of his body, I'm pretty sure the ball was across the line.

Close call, but that's what it looked like to me. Not sure if that's homer eyes, but I thought he didn't get in until the third or so replay.
Kid A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 09:00 PM   #6
RhymesayersDU
Go Broncos, Nuggets, Rox
 
RhymesayersDU's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Back In The 303!
Posts: 14,965

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Ty Lawson
Default

Again, I'm not trying to take anything away from our boys.

Defense played like killers in the second half. They get all my respect.

I'm just saying, so weird that at the least a questionable call happens late 2 years in a row. Now that the Broncos are actually competing with the Chargers, this is the stuff epic rivalries are made of. Wild game.
RhymesayersDU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 09:08 PM   #7
IHaveALight
the sun is gone
 
IHaveALight's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Denver
Posts: 1,272
Default

It was a TD. He had control of the ball and both feet in the endzone. Even though the ball didn't cross the plane, it is still a TD by rule. They made the right call, this is exactly how the ref explained it too. The analysts didn't see, hear or understand this hence it never got pointed out. The same thing happened last year with Santonio Holmes I believe against Cinci. Could be wrong on the details, there was a big mess made about it in the media but bottom line was they made the right call per the NFL rules.
IHaveALight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 09:09 PM   #8
Garcia Bronco
Hokie since 1993
 

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 46,751

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Tom Jackson
Default

He caught the ball in the endzone.
Garcia Bronco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 09:12 PM   #9
RhymesayersDU
Go Broncos, Nuggets, Rox
 
RhymesayersDU's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Back In The 303!
Posts: 14,965

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Ty Lawson
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 13WaysToBleed View Post
It was a TD. He had control of the ball and both feet in the endzone. Even though the ball didn't cross the plane, it is still a TD by rule. They made the right call, this is exactly how the ref explained it too. The analysts didn't see, hear or understand this hence it never got pointed out. The same thing happened last year with Santonio Holmes I believe against Cinci. Could be wrong on the details, there was a big mess made about it in the media but bottom line was they made the right call per the NFL rules.
Interesting. Gracias for the explanation.
RhymesayersDU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 09:13 PM   #10
OABB
sarcasm font
 
OABB's Avatar
 
always on.

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los angeles
Posts: 7,340

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Knowshon Moreno
Default

that call wasn't nearly as bad as the bs pi they called on us with the uncatchable ball.
OABB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 09:14 PM   #11
tsiguy96
Ring of Famer
 
tsiguy96's Avatar
 
New to the Forum

Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 12,696

Adopt-a-Bronco:
None
Default

we won by 11, not be 3 or 4 or 7. this TD was icing on the cake.
tsiguy96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 09:15 PM   #12
ColoradoDarin
Not Too Shabby Poster
 
ColoradoDarin's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: St Augustine, FL
Posts: 7,373

Adopt-a-Bronco:
T J Ward
Default

Ref said the call was confirmed, he did not say there wasn't enough to overrule.

Looked to me like he got in. I don't know what the announcers were talking about having both feet down in order to break the goal line either.
ColoradoDarin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 09:16 PM   #13
enlightning
Just Drafted
 
enlightning's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 13WaysToBleed View Post
It was a TD. He had control of the ball and both feet in the endzone. Even though the ball didn't cross the plane, it is still a TD by rule. They made the right call, this is exactly how the ref explained it too. The analysts didn't see, hear or understand this hence it never got pointed out. The same thing happened last year with Santonio Holmes I believe against Cinci. Could be wrong on the details, there was a big mess made about it in the media but bottom line was they made the right call per the NFL rules.
You still have to break the plane. Last years play was with Holmes vs the Ravens and again that was tough to tell because the NFL (or networks) refuses to camp cameras on the goalline (so they went with the call on the field then too). It would make the decision black and white. Denver probably punches it in on 4th down; but it shouldve been 4th down.
enlightning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 09:17 PM   #14
tsiguy96
Ring of Famer
 
tsiguy96's Avatar
 
New to the Forum

Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 12,696

Adopt-a-Bronco:
None
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ColoradoDarin View Post
Ref said the call was confirmed, he did not say there wasn't enough to overrule.

Looked to me like he got in. I don't know what the announcers were talking about having both feet down in order to break the goal line either.
thats why people are confused, you dont need both feet down to get a TD, the ball needs to cross the line.
tsiguy96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 09:18 PM   #15
enlightning
Just Drafted
 
enlightning's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsiguy96 View Post
thats why people are confused, you dont need both feet down to get a TD, the ball needs to cross the line.
You need two feet down for possession. Can't score a TD without possession of the football.
enlightning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 09:18 PM   #16
Rock Chalk
Cheeky Bastards
 
Rock Chalk's Avatar
 
Laus Deo

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: The Backside of the Internet
Posts: 29,747

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Chris Harris
Default

Who gives a ****. The chargers got a god damn break on a bogus PI call on 3rd down anyway.

It all evened out this game.
Rock Chalk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 09:22 PM   #17
ColoradoDarin
Not Too Shabby Poster
 
ColoradoDarin's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: St Augustine, FL
Posts: 7,373

Adopt-a-Bronco:
T J Ward
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enlightning View Post
You need two feet down for possession. Can't score a TD without possession of the football.
But forward progress is counted from where you first touch the football (this was explained in a game yesterday).
ColoradoDarin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 09:24 PM   #18
Taco John
24/7 Broncos
 
Taco John's Avatar
 
All Hail King Midas

Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 50,413

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Peyton Manning
Default

I didn't think Stokley was in at first. But after watching it from the overhead angle, I don't know how you can't give him forward progress there. The answer is: you have to.
Taco John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 09:27 PM   #19
IHaveALight
the sun is gone
 
IHaveALight's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Denver
Posts: 1,272
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enlightning View Post
You still have to break the plane. Last years play was with Holmes vs the Ravens and again that was tough to tell because the NFL (or networks) refuses to camp cameras on the goalline (so they went with the call on the field then too). It would make the decision black and white. Denver probably punches it in on 4th down; but it shouldve been 4th down.
I'm pretty sure that if you have both feet in the endzone the ball doesn't have to cross the plane. It's a weird and controversial rule, but it is the rule. Maybe someone out there can look this up to be certain?
IHaveALight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 09:30 PM   #20
Rock Chalk
Cheeky Bastards
 
Rock Chalk's Avatar
 
Laus Deo

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: The Backside of the Internet
Posts: 29,747

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Chris Harris
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 13WaysToBleed View Post
I'm pretty sure that if you have both feet in the endzone the ball doesn't have to cross the plane. It's a weird and controversial rule, but it is the rule. Maybe someone out there can look this up to be certain?
No.

Forward progress is where the ball is first deigned to be caught. While his feet were not down the ball was in the end zone and since he maintained possession of the ball through the catch, forward progress was IN the end zone.

Thus.

Touchdown.
Rock Chalk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 09:30 PM   #21
Kyle
Bigger Arm = Longer Pick
 
See: Favre and Cutler

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SE WI
Posts: 65

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Orton
Default

two feet in the endzone with posession gives you a TD. How many sideline plays are caught with the call CLEARLY out of bounds but two big toes on the ground in the endzone with posession? Ball breaking plane isn't the only way to get a touchdown.
Kyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 09:31 PM   #22
BigPlayShay
Ring of Famer
 
BigPlayShay's Avatar
 
Novaking

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 4,451

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Got Cut
Default

NO Shenanigans, just a straight up ****ing beat down of the sparkies.
BigPlayShay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 09:36 PM   #23
Bronx33
lets go partner
 
Bronx33's Avatar
 
Rumpson Rocks

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Lakewood,Colo
Posts: 40,525

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Woodyard
Default

I welcome Shenanigans.
Bronx33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 09:40 PM   #24
SouthCarolinaBronco
Seasoned Veteran
 
Dixieland Denver Fan

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 286

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Josh McDaniels
Default

The only person who knows whether that ball was over the plane when Stokley's feet were down is the line judge, and he said it was a TD. That's good enough for me. None of the camera angles showed where the ball was in the verticle plane.
SouthCarolinaBronco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 09:44 PM   #25
Jekyll15Hyde
Anti Frown Cannon & McD..
 
Jekyll15Hyde's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,759
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyle View Post
two feet in the endzone with posession gives you a TD. How many sideline plays are caught with the call CLEARLY out of bounds but two big toes on the ground in the endzone with posession? Ball breaking plane isn't the only way to get a touchdown.
We have a winner. Yes, the 2 feet down oddity of a rule exists. The referee explained it perfectly.
Jekyll15Hyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:59 PM.


Denver Broncos