The Orange Mane -  a Denver Broncos Fan Community  

Go Back   The Orange Mane - a Denver Broncos Fan Community > Orange Mane Discussion > Orange Mane Central Discussion
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Chat Room Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-11-2009, 07:18 PM   #1
manchambo
Ring of Famer
 
manchambo's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,354
Default Obscure Rules Question of the Night

In the fourth quarter when the pats punted and pinned the broncos at the 2, the pats player recovering the punt was off balance and barely avoided going into the endzone. Royal was right next to him.

What happens if Royal pushes him into the endzone? Touchback, or is the move illegal in some way?
manchambo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 10-11-2009, 07:19 PM   #2
cutthemdown
A verbis ad verbera
 
cutthemdown's Avatar
 
Zimm to HOF

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Long Beach
Posts: 36,508
Default

if Royal had made a fair catch signal then he can not contact any defenders coming down the field.

I think.
cutthemdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2009, 07:20 PM   #3
Garcia Bronco
Hokie since 1993
 

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 46,781

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Tom Jackson
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cutthemdown View Post
if Royal had made a fair catch signal then he can not contact any defenders coming down the field.

I think.
This is correct.
Garcia Bronco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2009, 07:24 PM   #4
manchambo
Ring of Famer
 
manchambo's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,354
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cutthemdown View Post
if Royal had made a fair catch signal then he can not contact any defenders coming down the field.

I think.
That's right. But let's assume he didn't. I don't remember if he did or not, and I am curious whether it would work to push the guy into the endzone.
manchambo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2009, 07:26 PM   #5
SouthCarolinaBronco
Seasoned Veteran
 
Dixieland Denver Fan

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 286

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Josh McDaniels
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by manchambo View Post
That's right. But let's assume he didn't. I don't remember if he did or not, and I am curious whether it would work to push the guy into the endzone.
He did signal fair catch. If he hadn't, he could have blocked the Patriot into the end zone, but it is a seriously dangerous maneuver because if the ball touches him it's a live ball. That's just playing with fire.
SouthCarolinaBronco is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:01 PM.


Denver Broncos