|09-19-2007, 10:39 AM||#1|
Is this thing on???
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Tulsa, OK
Ask Jerry Markbreit - Week 2
I don't know if anyone else read this column, but I have been following it for a year or so and it is very interesting to a football fan. Former NFL referee, Jerry MarkBreit, offers his interpretation of difficult rules explanations. It isn't always about the Broncos, but it is always a very interesting read about football rules. If people like it, i'll try to repost it here weekly. Tell me what you think...
Ask Jerry Markbreit
The fomer NFL referee answers reader questions each week during the season
September 18, 2007, 5:30 PM CDT
Jerry, thanks for answering our questions, I enjoy reading this each week. In Sunday's Bears game, Devin Hester caught a kickoff with one foot out of bounds, and the ball was placed at the 40. I don't remember seeing this before, and was wondering if it was an "Illegal Procedure" if the receiver touched the ball with any part of his body out of bounds on a kick-off. --Skeeter, Normal, Ill.
A player is out of bounds when he runs out of bounds or, while the ball is in his possession, he touches a boundary line or anything other than a player or an official on or offside any such boundary line. When Devin Hester caught the kickoff with one foot out of bounds, it became a free kick out of bounds. The penalty for this infraction is awarding the ball to the receiving team 30 yards in advance of the spot of the kick. It is not illegal procedure, but is called free kick out of bounds, and carries no yardage penalty. Had he caught the ball with both feet inbounds and then went out, it would have been Chicago's ball at that spot.
Late in the Cleveland-Cincinnati game, Cincinnati was out of timeouts, and Cleveland had one left. Cleveland led the game 51-45, and were on defense. Because of an injury to one of the Browns players, Cleveland was forced to take their last timeout. Would they have been penalized if they did not have a timeout left, and if so, what would the penalty be? I understand that the team that is trailing would lose 10 seconds off the clock if they had an injury stoppage, but what about the team in the lead? Thanks! --Paul Junio, Oconomwoc, Wis.
If the defensive team is out of timeouts in the last two minutes of either half and an injury occurs, it is an official's timeout and they need not take a charged timeout. There is not 10-second runoff against the defense under NFL rules. Cleveland chose to call a timeout, but it was not to avoid a penalty. When an excess timeout is awarded for an injury, and it is the fourth timeout of the half, the clock is stopped, the injured man is removed and the clock starts on the ready-for-play signal.
The horse-collar rule seems to be highly controversial and misunderstood. What really distinguishes an actual horse-collar infraction from a legal tackle that is made by grabbing a player's collar? Is it only a penalty when the defender pulls the player into the ground in a quick motion? --Brian Anderson, San Francisco
A horse-collar foul is when a player grabs the inside collar of the back of the shoulder pads or jersey or the inside collar of the side of the shoulder pad or jersey and immediately pulls the runner down or close to the ground. This rule does not apply to a runner who is in the tackle box (between the tackles) or to a quarterback who is in the pocket (between the tackles).
During the Cardinals-Seahawks game this weekend, the referee called a five-yard face mask penalty. First, they said it would be fourth down because the five yards added to the end of the run was still short. The original play was on third down. The Cardinals and Seahawks sent in the Punt teams. Then the referee changed the call to the yardage was allowed, plus five yards, plus repeat third down. My question is are they supposed to repeat the down? Was this end result correct? --Robert Bond, Chandler, Ariz.
There are two kinds of face-mask fouls. One is a personal foul, carrying a 15-yard penalty and an automatic first down. The second is an incidental face mask foul that carries a five-yard penalty and the down is replayed. In your play, the five-yard penalty for the incidental face mask was tacked on to the end of the run but did not produce a first down; so the referee quickly corrected himself, announcing that it was still third down.
Please explain the difference between 30- and 60-second timeouts in an NFL game. Thanks. --Joe, Verona, Wis.
There are no 60-second timeouts under NFL rules. When a team takes a charged timeout, television has the opportunity to insert a commercial, the duration of which is two minutes. If a team takes a timeout and no commercial is taken by the network, it becomes a 30-second timeout. The referee will announce to the crowd that the timeout will be 30 seconds in length when it applies.
Dear Jerry, I noticed that a few players on each team have a "C" patch on their uniform, such as Brian Urlacher. My guess is that the "C" indicates a team captain, but what are their duties? I really enjoy your column and the insights into the game of football that you provide. --Brian Marszalek, Hammond, Ind.
The "C" patches indicates a team captain. The duties of the captains are to make penalty enforcement decisions. However, when a complicated decision is required, the coach is generally asked to make the decision. One of the duties of the referee is to make sure that a player does not make a mistake on penalty enforcement.
Hi Jerry! Can a team go for an onside kick after a safety? Lots and lots of users of an Italian message board are scratching their heads about it. Thank you for your attention. Greets from Italy. Roberto Petillo, Napoli, Italy
You have presented my first question from the famous city of Napoli, Italy. Thank you. When a safety is scored, the team scored upon must next put the ball in play by a free kick (punt, drop kick or place kick.). No tee may be used for the safety kick. The free kick line for the receiving team is 10 yards from the kicking team's free kick line, which is generally the 20-yard line. All rules of free kicks apply, including an onside kick. Most safety kicks are punted to get greater distance; but once in a while, an onside kick is attempted by the punter; in fact, I have seen several during my officiating days in the NFL.
In the Packers-Giants game, the Packers were offside but the Giants got a first down on the play. After the whistle blew, the Giants' receiver spiked the ball and was flagged for delay of game. The officials offset the penalties, nullifying the play, but the commentators said they thought the first down should have stood because the offense's penalty occurred after the whistle. Who was correct? --David Englund, Belvidere, Ill.
The commentators on the play you describe did not understand the offsetting foul rule as it pertains to spiking the ball. The offside penalty at the snap, combined with the illegal spiking of the ball by the offensive player, results in an offset, even though the spiking occurs after the play was over.
In the Chiefs-Bears game, there was a play where the runner was hit and knocked off-balance. He stumbled just a bit, but regained his balance and then ran another yard or so. He then fell down and fumbled. Normally the ground can't cause a fumble, but are there any guidelines to a situation where the player doesn't go down on first contact, clearly is running under control, but a few yards later hits the ground for some other reason and fumbles? Thanks! --Hank Jones, Joliet, Ill.
When the runner is contacted by a defensive player and he subsequently goes to the ground without regaining his balance, he is ruled down by contact. In your play, the runner regained his balance, ran another yard or so and fell down and fumbled. This is the one time when a fumbled ball caused by the ground is considered a fumble because the ball carrier was not down by contact.
|09-19-2007, 10:51 AM||#2|
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: The Backside of the Internet
|09-19-2007, 01:13 PM||#4|
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Bucks County,PA
I'd vote for seeing it, I didn't know you could kick an onsides kick after a saftey either, good read thanks.
|09-19-2007, 01:23 PM||#5|
Ring of Famer
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: 63 Yards Out
1 Elam 1
How much do the refs make these days? I'm considering a career change and out of conflict of interest can't officiate any Broncos games.