The Orange Mane -  a Denver Broncos Fan Community  

Go Back   The Orange Mane - a Denver Broncos Fan Community > Orange Mane Discussion > Orange Mane Central Discussion
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Chat Room Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-08-2006, 04:01 PM   #1
Bronco_Beerslug
Angling in the Deep
 
Bronco_Beerslug's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Texas Riviera, Southern Mountains
Posts: 24,234
Default High Def - Directv Question

Finally got my DLP TV. I shouldn't have waited so long the picture is incredible!!!

But does anyone else experience audio sync problems on some of the high def channels (Discovery HD theatre and HDN so far)?
Bronco_Beerslug is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-08-2006, 04:23 PM   #2
Willynowei
Some dude
 
Willynowei's Avatar
 
Football is a wonderful thing.

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NY
Posts: 3,028

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Ryan Clady
Default

It depends.

Could be the audio converter or the video converter.

That DLP display (a very good one) has a native resolution of 720p. (1024x720) so if you are getting a 1080i or 480p signal, the television takes time to upconvert the signal to 720p or down convert it from 1080i. In either case, it will lag behind the audio.

Also, if you are using HDMI, it means the audio signal maybe purely digital, where as if you are using component input, the audio signal is analog. In either case, if your cable box is outputing analog or digital, depding on the wire usage, it will have to convert it from one to the other.

Conversions take time and if your video and audio conversions don't take equal time you will have sync problems.

Usually if you output everything with one single HDMI line, you won't have problesm (if your cable box has that) otherwise you will just have to wait. In any case, its the providers fault if things don't sync up, not yours.

Enjoy the new TV!

EDIT: one more thing, it could just be a signal issue on Direct TV's side. Usually this stuff has to do with conversion, but not always.

Last edited by Willynowei; 03-08-2006 at 04:25 PM..
Willynowei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2006, 04:41 PM   #3
Bronco_Beerslug
Angling in the Deep
 
Bronco_Beerslug's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Texas Riviera, Southern Mountains
Posts: 24,234
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Willynowei
It depends.

Could be the audio converter or the video converter.

That DLP display (a very good one) has a native resolution of 720p. (1024x720) so if you are getting a 1080i or 480p signal, the television takes time to upconvert the signal to 720p or down convert it from 1080i. In either case, it will lag behind the audio.

Also, if you are using HDMI, it means the audio signal maybe purely digital, where as if you are using component input, the audio signal is analog. In either case, if your cable box is outputing analog or digital, depding on the wire usage, it will have to convert it from one to the other.

Conversions take time and if your video and audio conversions don't take equal time you will have sync problems.

Usually if you output everything with one single HDMI line, you won't have problesm (if your cable box has that) otherwise you will just have to wait. In any case, its the providers fault if things don't sync up, not yours.

Enjoy the new TV!

EDIT: one more thing, it could just be a signal issue on Direct TV's side. Usually this stuff has to do with conversion, but not always.
Interesting stuff! I'm using a HDMI connection form the H20 receiver to the DLP TV. It doesn't happen all the time but every other day or so. The high def movie channels don't have this problem. I called Directv support but of course they were pretty much clueless. They did say they were getting quite a few calls complaining about the same thing.

I can't believe I went this long without high def TV. Watching anything else now is kind of a letdown.

Last edited by Bronco_Beerslug; 03-08-2006 at 04:57 PM..
Bronco_Beerslug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2006, 04:55 PM   #4
baja
Happy camper
 
baja's Avatar
 
Sweet

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: in the present moment
Posts: 59,798

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Ware
Default

I had that problem there is an audio sync adjustment for that in the menu on the HD TV
baja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2006, 04:58 PM   #5
baja
Happy camper
 
baja's Avatar
 
Sweet

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: in the present moment
Posts: 59,798

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Ware
Default

Or maybe the adjustment was in the surround sound equipment, can't remember now
baja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2006, 04:58 PM   #6
Bronco_Beerslug
Angling in the Deep
 
Bronco_Beerslug's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Texas Riviera, Southern Mountains
Posts: 24,234
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by baja fan
I had that problem there is an audio sync adjustment for that in the menu on the HD TV
I seen that but it's only on 2 or 3 channels. I'm afraid of screwing all the rest up. It changes it for all of them right?
Bronco_Beerslug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2006, 05:04 PM   #7
baja
Happy camper
 
baja's Avatar
 
Sweet

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: in the present moment
Posts: 59,798

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Ware
Default

right
baja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2006, 05:05 PM   #8
baja
Happy camper
 
baja's Avatar
 
Sweet

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: in the present moment
Posts: 59,798

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Ware
Default

If it is only on some channels than it is a problem on the broadcast side
baja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2014, 07:49 PM   #9
Meck77
.
 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 16,647
Default

BUMP!

So looking to upgrade the TV. Only have a couple days until the big game. What would you guys recommend from this list. http://www.costco.com/51-inch-tvs-and-above.html Have several Vizio's and have had great luck with them. None of them are "smart" though. Have been using a chromecast for net flix and what not but looking to upgrade the main room and just shift the old one to the bedroom etc.

Not opposed to hitting best buy or what not but have to have it in place come sunday.

What do you say Omane?
Meck77 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2014, 08:32 PM   #10
DenverBroncosJM
Post here Vine
 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: California
Posts: 1,115
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Meck77 View Post
BUMP!

So looking to upgrade the TV. Only have a couple days until the big game. What would you guys recommend from this list. http://www.costco.com/51-inch-tvs-and-above.html Have several Vizio's and have had great luck with them. None of them are "smart" though. Have been using a chromecast for net flix and what not but looking to upgrade the main room and just shift the old one to the bedroom etc.

Not opposed to hitting best buy or what not but have to have it in place come sunday.

What do you say Omane?
I purchase samsung for the vast majority of my home appliances and tv's.

This is a nice samsung for a decent price

http://m.bestbuy.com/m/e/product/det...d=abcat0101001

And for hdmi and mounts (and a ton of other stuff) monoprice.com

Last edited by DenverBroncosJM; 01-08-2014 at 08:41 PM..
DenverBroncosJM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2014, 08:34 PM   #11
Bronco Yoda
.
 
Bronco Yoda's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 8,776
Default

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/samsung-...&skuId=8908129

Go big or go home!

btw, I'll bring over the bean dip
Bronco Yoda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2014, 08:41 PM   #12
Irish Stout
Ring of Famer
 
Irish Stout's Avatar
 
Run for it Marty!

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Colorado
Posts: 3,910

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Wesley Woodyard
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Meck77 View Post
BUMP!

So looking to upgrade the TV. Only have a couple days until the big game. What would you guys recommend from this list. http://www.costco.com/51-inch-tvs-and-above.html Have several Vizio's and have had great luck with them. None of them are "smart" though. Have been using a chromecast for net flix and what not but looking to upgrade the main room and just shift the old one to the bedroom etc.

Not opposed to hitting best buy or what not but have to have it in place come sunday.

What do you say Omane?
I just recently bought a Sharp 65" LED from Paul's tv in furniture row with a Harmen Karden blu ray sound system for $1,200. The Brice seemed good and the tv and sound system are awesome! I'd recommend checking them out for any deals. Pretty decent selection and prices seemed better than costco. They delivered it the next day too at no charge. However, costco has the best return policy in the world.

The tv is smart with wifi. Nice for watching That's Good Broncos on YouTube. The tv is not 3D though... I didn't see the need, but maybe I'm missing out.

Last edited by Irish Stout; 01-08-2014 at 08:43 PM..
Irish Stout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2014, 08:42 PM   #13
DenverBroncosJM
Post here Vine
 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: California
Posts: 1,115
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Irish Stout View Post
I just recently bought a Sharp 65" LED from Paul's tv in furniture row with a Harmen Karden blu ray sound system for $1,200. The Brice seemed good and the tv and sound system are awesome! I'd recommend checking them out for any deals. Pretty decent selection and prices seemed better than costco. They delivered it the next day too at no charge. However, costco has the best return policy in the world.
Costco changed the tv return policy, it's 90 days now.
DenverBroncosJM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2014, 08:45 PM   #14
broncosteven
Kranz Dictum
 
broncosteven's Avatar
 
Where is Amazon!

Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Tranquility Base
Posts: 34,707

Adopt-a-Bronco:
CJ Anderson!
Default

I miss me some Beerslug! Meck you got me, I thought he came back.

I don't care much about having the greatest TV. I have a plasma in the basement I bought on sale from Sears when we had the basement remodeled (actually it was an unfinished basement so it was only Modeled) about 7 years ago. Paid just over $1200 back then, 1080p and 40". Since it is in the basement I don't have shadow or heat issues that a lot of people complain about with Plasma's.

Good luck and Go Broncos!
broncosteven is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:16 PM.


Denver Broncos