The Orange Mane -  a Denver Broncos Fan Community  

Go Back   The Orange Mane - a Denver Broncos Fan Community > Jibba Jabba > Photoshop Fun > Photoshop Tutorials
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Chat Room Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-28-2005, 05:28 AM   #1
Rock Chalk
Cheeky Bastards
 
Rock Chalk's Avatar
 
Laus Deo

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: The Backside of the Internet
Posts: 29,749

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Chris Harris
Default Tutorial 1: Extracting Image Tutorial

Extracting Image:

In this first tutorial we will learn a very simple, very effective way to extract part of an image (the foreground) and remove the background.


Step 1: Make a duplicate of your layer (do this by right clicking on the layer in the layer window and selecting "Duplicate Layer").

Step 2: Highlight the duplicated layer and press CTRL+ALT+X to use the "Extract" command. A window pops up and your image is in the center. Use your highlighter (little icon in upper left side of window) and trace around the image of Bell. Do not worry about being exact, just get it close, it can overlap the image of Bell. When you are finished outlining Bell, click the paintbucket right underneath the highlighter. Fill in INSIDE the part you highlighted (hence, fill in the image of Bell with the paintbucket). Press OK.


Step 3: Open your "History" window (Menu: Window-->History) and highlight the option "Duplicate Layer" Click on the empty box on the left side of the Duplicate Layer action (highlighted below). This is your "History Brush" and with it you will be able to redraw in the parts of your image that were deleted when you extracted. As you get better with this method, you will have to do less and less of this redrawing as your extractions will be closer to perfect.


Step 4: Go to your tools window and select the History Brush. To do this, click and hold the paint brush(highlighted below) and select the "History Brush Tool" instead of the "Art Brush Tool".


Step 5: Go around your image of Bell and re-draw in what parts of him are missing. If you go past the edge of him it will draw in the background so a steady hand is required. Make short strokes then release the mouse button. This way if you mess up, you can press CTRL+Z to "Undo" the last operation and do it over.

Step 6: You have your image of Bell extracted now (hopefully). You may notice some remaining portions of the background on the image. Just grab your eraser tool and erase those left over parts (if any) being careful when around the image (Bell) that you want to keep.

Step 7: Now, it looks finished right? Well, not quite. I have found that if you use a stroke with "3 pixels" temporarily on this image, you will find a bunch of spots you could not see that need to be erased. I enable the stroke and then go and erase all the area that is stroke that is more than 3 pixels.

And with all the extraneous background removed...


Step 8 (Bonus): Highlight the original layer in the layer window and press SHIFT+CTRL+U and you end up with a fully colorized Tatum Bell and a black and white background. As an added bonus Click Menu: Filter-->Add Noise. Set your amount to 6.0 Distribution to Gaussian and make sure the "Monochromatic" box is checked. Gives the background a grainy 1950s television look while keeping Bell in full 2005 technicolor

Here is mine.


This is the first time I have wrote a tutorial on something so if a step is unclear, please post it so I can modify the tutorial and make it clearer. If you would like my PSD file, PM me and I will email it to you.

Alec

Last edited by Rock Chalk; 11-28-2005 at 08:15 AM..
Rock Chalk is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 11-28-2005, 10:08 AM   #2
REB
LP.org/L4L.org
 
REB's Avatar
 
"This one's for John!" 3:16

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: 'I guess he'd rather be in Colorado'
Posts: 8,412
Default

Nice tutorial Alec
REB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2005, 10:28 AM   #3
Jens1893
Ring of Famer
 
Jens1893's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2001
Location: People´s Republic of Bad Cannstatt
Posts: 9,127
Default

This is easier than I thought. Thanks Alec.
Jens1893 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2005, 02:13 PM   #4
Alleged Triggerman
Rigger!
 
Alleged Triggerman's Avatar
 
Evolving.

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Sin City
Posts: 676

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Kyle Orton
Default

I rikey!
Alleged Triggerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2005, 04:23 PM   #5
minibronco
KFFL Writer/Fantasy Scout
 
Defense: 11 Strong

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The OC
Posts: 2,430
Default

Thanks alec... this really helps!!!!

Three things though:

1) How do you erase the background so easily and so accurately? (eraser? background eraser? magic wand outline?)

2) Where did you find such a high resolution photo (url please)

3) And check your PM. Send me the file please. That looks sweet.

Thanks. This is fun.
minibronco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2005, 05:07 PM   #6
Broncofan_H
Seasoned Veteran
 
Broncofan_H's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Colorado Front Range
Posts: 355
Default

Very cool, Alec. Thank you very much.

I've always been intimidated by PS, but I think i'll give it a try.

Thanks also to Taco John for the forum.
Broncofan_H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2005, 06:57 PM   #7
Rock Chalk
Cheeky Bastards
 
Rock Chalk's Avatar
 
Laus Deo

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: The Backside of the Internet
Posts: 29,749

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Chris Harris
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by minibronco
Thanks alec... this really helps!!!!

Three things though:

1) How do you erase the background so easily and so accurately? (eraser? background eraser? magic wand outline?)

2) Where did you find such a high resolution photo (url please)

3) And check your PM. Send me the file please. That looks sweet.

Thanks. This is fun.
1) I assume you mean how to I erase the remaining portions of the background and I use the eraser tool. I set the brush size initially to 20, then 10, then 3 and that usually is small enough to get around the edges close enough. There are other ways of extracting parts of an image, but since this is the first tutorial, I chose the most simplistic way.

2) Google image search rules.

3) File sent.
Rock Chalk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2005, 07:33 PM   #8
Broncofan_H
Seasoned Veteran
 
Broncofan_H's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Colorado Front Range
Posts: 355
Default

Hey Alec,

Am I missing something? I have two images open, one which is the original picture, and one is the copy that I have used the history brush, and erased the extra background stuff.

Now I can't seem to get from 7 to 8. How do I view what the "finished product" is? I only have 1 layer it appears, shouldn't I have 2?

I have Photoshop CS, is that the problem?

Thanks in advance.
Broncofan_H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2005, 08:15 PM   #9
Rock Chalk
Cheeky Bastards
 
Rock Chalk's Avatar
 
Laus Deo

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: The Backside of the Internet
Posts: 29,749

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Chris Harris
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Broncofan_H
Hey Alec,

Am I missing something? I have two images open, one which is the original picture, and one is the copy that I have used the history brush, and erased the extra background stuff.

Now I can't seem to get from 7 to 8. How do I view what the "finished product" is? I only have 1 layer it appears, shouldn't I have 2?

I have Photoshop CS, is that the problem?

Thanks in advance.
Hmm, I did this through 7.0 figuring more would have that version. I skipped CS and went to CS 2 but the steps are the same.

Now, if you have the "original" and another image thats just Bell with the extra background already taken out, you can drag that image (Click and drag it from the layer window OR click and drag the actual image of Bell) to the original picture.

THis will give you the two layers that you need. If you didnt have two layers, then I suspect you copy and pasted to a new image.

Another way to create a duplicate layer is to go Menu: Duplicate Layer

And yet another way is illustrated below (red arrows, drag from top to bottom, red highlighted circle is where you drop the layer you want to duplicate)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg layer_window.jpg (69.2 KB, 239 views)
Rock Chalk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2005, 09:05 PM   #10
GreatBronco16
!!!TEAM!!!
 
GreatBronco16's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bama Baby
Posts: 6,374

Adopt-a-Bronco:
The Defense
Default

Hey thanks a hell of a lot Alec. I got a little lost on what to do with Bell after I hade separated him, so I just opened up a new window and used the drag tool to drag him to that. Then I noticed I still had a little bit of the background still with him then just erased it. So yeah, I had to add him to a pic which I just dragged him into.

So here is my youngest son going to lay the smack down on Bell. Too bad that Bell made him miss though.

GreatBronco16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2005, 09:20 PM   #11
minibronco
KFFL Writer/Fantasy Scout
 
Defense: 11 Strong

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The OC
Posts: 2,430
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GreatBronco16
Hey thanks a hell of a lot Alec. I got a little lost on what to do with Bell after I hade separated him, so I just opened up a new window and used the drag tool to drag him to that. Then I noticed I still had a little bit of the background still with him then just erased it. So yeah, I had to add him to a pic which I just dragged him into.

So here is my youngest son going to lay the smack down on Bell. Too bad that Bell made him miss though.

Nice man.... good job.

This forum is a good self-esteem booster.
minibronco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2005, 09:20 PM   #12
minibronco
KFFL Writer/Fantasy Scout
 
Defense: 11 Strong

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The OC
Posts: 2,430
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlecRaenos
1) I assume you mean how to I erase the remaining portions of the background and I use the eraser tool. I set the brush size initially to 20, then 10, then 3 and that usually is small enough to get around the edges close enough. There are other ways of extracting parts of an image, but since this is the first tutorial, I chose the most simplistic way.

2) Google image search rules.

3) File sent.
O geez man.

I zoomed in a couple hundred times and I did not find one bad trace left over.

Ho-ly crud.
minibronco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2005, 09:47 PM   #13
Broncofan_H
Seasoned Veteran
 
Broncofan_H's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Colorado Front Range
Posts: 355
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlecRaenos
Hmm, I did this through 7.0 figuring more would have that version. I skipped CS and went to CS 2 but the steps are the same.

Now, if you have the "original" and another image thats just Bell with the extra background already taken out, you can drag that image (Click and drag it from the layer window OR click and drag the actual image of Bell) to the original picture.

THis will give you the two layers that you need. If you didnt have two layers, then I suspect you copy and pasted to a new image.

Another way to create a duplicate layer is to go Menu: Duplicate Layer

And yet another way is illustrated below (red arrows, drag from top to bottom, red highlighted circle is where you drop the layer you want to duplicate)
Thanks a ton, man. Now, it sucks and is ugly, but it IS my first attempt...
Something went wrong, perhaps with the history brush?
Broncofan_H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2005, 09:51 PM   #14
GreatBronco16
!!!TEAM!!!
 
GreatBronco16's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bama Baby
Posts: 6,374

Adopt-a-Bronco:
The Defense
Default

Here's another I just did real quick. Atlas' avatar made me think to do it.
GreatBronco16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2005, 12:33 AM   #15
Jens1893
Ring of Famer
 
Jens1893's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2001
Location: People´s Republic of Bad Cannstatt
Posts: 9,127
Default



hows this for starters?

2 questions

a) how do i add color back to the background? cant do "undo" anymore, as id already closed the image

Last edited by Jens1893; 11-29-2005 at 05:06 AM..
Jens1893 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2005, 04:46 AM   #16
OrangeShadow
armed
 
and dangerous

Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 6,757
Default

what verion of ps are u using?
OrangeShadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2005, 06:50 AM   #17
Rock Chalk
Cheeky Bastards
 
Rock Chalk's Avatar
 
Laus Deo

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: The Backside of the Internet
Posts: 29,749

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Chris Harris
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Broncofan_H
Thanks a ton, man. Now, it sucks and is ugly, but it IS my first attempt...
Something went wrong, perhaps with the history brush?
Nothing went wrong. You just need to use your eraser on the extracted layer of Plummer.
Rock Chalk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2005, 06:51 AM   #18
Rock Chalk
Cheeky Bastards
 
Rock Chalk's Avatar
 
Laus Deo

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: The Backside of the Internet
Posts: 29,749

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Chris Harris
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jens


hows this for starters?

2 questions

a) how do i add color back to the background? cant do "undo" anymore, as id already closed the image
Thats technically one question

You can add color back, but its a process and requires a separate tutorial.
Rock Chalk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2005, 06:58 AM   #19
Jens1893
Ring of Famer
 
Jens1893's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2001
Location: People´s Republic of Bad Cannstatt
Posts: 9,127
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlecRaenos
Thats technically one question

You can add color back, but its a process and requires a separate tutorial.
ok, thought you could do it with one or two mouse clicks

(i had 2 questions first, but found the answer to the 2nd one myself)
Jens1893 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2005, 10:34 AM   #20
REB
LP.org/L4L.org
 
REB's Avatar
 
"This one's for John!" 3:16

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: 'I guess he'd rather be in Colorado'
Posts: 8,412
Default

That looks great Jens
REB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2005, 03:27 PM   #21
OrangeShadow
armed
 
and dangerous

Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 6,757
Default

i use PS 6 and i dont have that tool
OrangeShadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2005, 05:33 PM   #22
minibronco
KFFL Writer/Fantasy Scout
 
Defense: 11 Strong

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The OC
Posts: 2,430
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jens
ok, thought you could do it with one or two mouse clicks

(i had 2 questions first, but found the answer to the 2nd one myself)
You could always go back to the Broncos website and get it again....

*edit* that picture is now my desktop background, I'm gonna try to do a lot of fun things with it.
minibronco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2005, 06:20 PM   #23
Rock Chalk
Cheeky Bastards
 
Rock Chalk's Avatar
 
Laus Deo

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: The Backside of the Internet
Posts: 29,749

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Chris Harris
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OrangeShadow
i use PS 6 and i dont have that tool
Which tool? The eraser tool? I dont know about 6.0 (I know there is one) but here is what it looks like in 7.0. (highlighted with red circle)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg tools-eraser.jpg (33.9 KB, 221 views)
Rock Chalk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2005, 09:05 PM   #24
minibronco
KFFL Writer/Fantasy Scout
 
Defense: 11 Strong

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The OC
Posts: 2,430
Default

The fact is, erasing to the degree that Alec is erasing to, well, I just don't have the patience. I get frustrated when I accidentally take off half an inch of someone's helmet; it takes such a long time to do the entire body. Then i just get lazy, as you see here. this is a very bad job with a magic wand to trace and cut out.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg afccollage.jpg (180.1 KB, 216 views)
minibronco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2005, 10:26 PM   #25
Jens1893
Ring of Famer
 
Jens1893's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2001
Location: People´s Republic of Bad Cannstatt
Posts: 9,127
Default

mini, here you go ... the font is called pricedow and is used for the grand theft auto video game series ....



i have that pic in higher res as well, btw ...

Last edited by Jens1893; 03-08-2007 at 10:22 PM..
Jens1893 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:57 AM.


Denver Broncos