The Orange Mane -  a Denver Broncos Fan Community  

Go Back   The Orange Mane - a Denver Broncos Fan Community > Orange Mane Discussion > Orange Mane Central Discussion
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Chat Room Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-02-2012, 08:14 PM   #1
DAN_BRONCO_FAN
Ring of Famer
 
weed will win

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: colorado springs area
Posts: 3,938

Adopt-a-Bronco:
miles
Default powerlines and phone lines question

today my power went out a few times today and im wondering
why are power lines overhead and phone lines buried and not both buried underground ?
DAN_BRONCO_FAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 04-02-2012, 08:20 PM   #2
Drunken.Broncoholic
Guest
 

Posts: n/a
Default

My neighborhood has all wires underground. Just depends on how much money your town wants to spend. Better hope no one throws up some old converse shoes on the line.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 08:25 PM   #3
broncosteven
Kranz Dictum
 
broncosteven's Avatar
 
AFC WEST CHAMPS Tough and Competent

Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Tranquility Base
Posts: 38,248

Adopt-a-Bronco:
CJ Anderson
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DAN_BRONCO_FAN View Post
today my power went out a few times today and im wondering
why are power lines overhead and phone lines buried and not both buried underground ?
It depends on when the lines were installed.

I live in an area where the houses, subdivision for lack of a better word, was built all at once, they removed the top soil and litterally built from the ground up replacing the topsoil.

The town required new buildouts to include everything buried, we have no aerials but other places in our town which are older have everything on aerials.

It is way to expensive for towns to require everything to be converted so they grandfather in existing lines but if there is a major rebuild there are items in the towns code that kick in and require it.

It is so expensive to get AT&T or your local power company to trench existing runs. We looked at having fiber run to a site about 10 years ago and it was $50k for a short run.

We had a site that was in a prestige location but it was old and established and everything coming into it was on aerials so every time the wind blew they lost their T1 (and sometimes power) we eventually convinced the C level office to move into a new building in the same town that had everything buried. They didn't have any more issues after that.
broncosteven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 08:45 PM   #4
OBF1
Ring of Famer
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 15,771

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Marvin Austin
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DAN_BRONCO_FAN View Post
today my power went out a few times today and im wondering
why are power lines overhead and phone lines buried and not both buried underground ?

You can not put High voltage and phone/data together. You would have to run a seperate vault/underground innerduct/pipe system to do so. Just like on the power poles... Your telephone lines are always the lowest on the power lines while the AC/DC are the top lines on a power pole assembly.
OBF1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 09:17 PM   #5
gyldenlove
Ring of Famer
 
gyldenlove's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Nęstved, DK
Posts: 11,230

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Spencer Larsen
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CBF1 View Post
You can not put High voltage and phone/data together. You would have to run a seperate vault/underground innerduct/pipe system to do so. Just like on the power poles... Your telephone lines are always the lowest on the power lines while the AC/DC are the top lines on a power pole assembly.
In places where they switch to fiberoptics for phone/data this is no longer true.
gyldenlove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 09:35 PM   #6
Pony Boy
"Whoa Nellie"
 
Pony Boy's Avatar
 
Omaha !!!

Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,795

Adopt-a-Bronco:
mellon head
Default

Awesome investment if you have natural gas or LP available, never worry about power outage again.

Last edited by Pony Boy; 11-02-2013 at 06:29 PM..
Pony Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 11:06 PM   #7
Houshyamama
I Make The Weather
 
Houshyamama's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 4,494

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Brock Osweiler
Default

Because we wanted to blow up Iraq.
Houshyamama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 11:14 PM   #8
OBF1
Ring of Famer
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 15,771

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Marvin Austin
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gyldenlove View Post
In places where they switch to fiberoptics for phone/data this is no longer true.

The OP or myself never made mention of fiber optics... Which is a totally different animal, Still we do not run Fiber with high voltage in any circumstances in SoCal.
OBF1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 12:21 AM   #9
broncocalijohn
Famer of Rings
 
broncocalijohn's Avatar
 
I said Do It!

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Lake Forest, Orange County, Calif.
Posts: 23,424

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Simon Fletcher
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DAN_BRONCO_FAN View Post
today my power went out a few times today and im wondering
why are power lines overhead and phone lines buried and not both buried underground ?
Just move to a newer housing area. Case solved. Almost thought your question was going to go MacGruder on us. Glad it didn't veer towards anti gravity or magnetic forces.
broncocalijohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 01:36 AM   #10
DAN_BRONCO_FAN
Ring of Famer
 
weed will win

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: colorado springs area
Posts: 3,938

Adopt-a-Bronco:
miles
Default

[QUOTE=Pony Boy;3547683]Awesome investment if you have natural gas or LP available, never worry about power outage again.[/QUOT
good ideal if one could afford it or a gas power generator would work also had a few of em around the neighborhood after the tornado knocked the power out in 2001 took the high school out and the spring storm we got a few years ago along with the high winds snapped a few power poles . had no power for a week both times. and seeing i live in a rural town i don't see why mountain view cant build underground power cables like they have with phones around here.
must be as some said budget reasons.
DAN_BRONCO_FAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 02:01 AM   #11
DAN_BRONCO_FAN
Ring of Famer
 
weed will win

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: colorado springs area
Posts: 3,938

Adopt-a-Bronco:
miles
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by broncocalijohn View Post
Just move to a newer housing area. Case solved. Almost thought your question was going to go MacGruder on us. Glad it didn't veer towards anti gravity or magnetic forces.
thats too simple of a solution.
i dont got much money to just casually move from place to place, its easier to type a answer on a internet forum a bit complicated to carry out in the real world .
as for grudy and his magnetic scifi babble
perhaps he should leave such talk to people who know about real application of gravitational fields to theoretical scientists same people who theorize it possible to time travel only if your a subatomic partial and its only few mins back forth in time. and as of me typing this it is impossible for humans to travel back n forth thru time and also no machines on earth thats used for travel utilizes gravity, i think bullet trains in japan use magnetic fields to travel on rail tracks . but grudy is either a troll or a idiot
DAN_BRONCO_FAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 02:03 AM   #12
DAN_BRONCO_FAN
Ring of Famer
 
weed will win

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: colorado springs area
Posts: 3,938

Adopt-a-Bronco:
miles
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CBF1 View Post
The OP or myself never made mention of fiber optics... Which is a totally different animal, Still we do not run Fiber with high voltage in any circumstances in SoCal.
think they got a few optic cables in my area . not shure, i seen construction of some sort of underground cables miles away from me and it seems to be the main area between co sprgs and my town
DAN_BRONCO_FAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 02:12 AM   #13
UberBroncoMan
Your Local Nostradamus
 
UberBroncoMan's Avatar
 
Wut

Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 8,153

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Nathaniel Irvig
Default



Felt appropriate
UberBroncoMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 02:53 PM   #14
DAN_BRONCO_FAN
Ring of Famer
 
weed will win

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: colorado springs area
Posts: 3,938

Adopt-a-Bronco:
miles
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by UberBroncoMan View Post


Felt appropriate
poor indy his last movie was a rape
DAN_BRONCO_FAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 03:15 PM   #15
bendog
Marginally Continent
 
bendog's Avatar
 
David Bowens, he'd be an upgrade

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Folsom Prison
Posts: 19,872

Adopt-a-Bronco:
David Bowens
Default

CATS. THINK ABOUT IT.
bendog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 03:26 PM   #16
Tombstone RJ
Ring of Famer
 
Tombstone RJ's Avatar
 
Old School

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: In the Tetons!
Posts: 22,347

Adopt-a-Bronco:
WorrellWilliams
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DAN_BRONCO_FAN View Post
today my power went out a few times today and im wondering
why are power lines overhead and phone lines buried and not both buried underground ?
The simple answer: money. It costs a lot more to bury power lines than to run them over head.
Tombstone RJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 07:12 PM   #17
Jetmeck
Not a Chief's board
 
Jetmeck's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 6,412
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tombstone RJ View Post
The simple answer: money. It costs a lot more to bury power lines than to run them over head.
thats it. had to pay to have mine buried from house to main out by the street. power been out for at most 15 minutes in 10 years...........
Jetmeck is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:47 AM.


Denver Broncos