The Orange Mane -  a Denver Broncos Fan Community  

Go Back   The Orange Mane - a Denver Broncos Fan Community > Orange Mane Discussion > Orange Mane Central Discussion
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Chat Room Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-28-2012, 12:23 PM   #51
Requiem
~~~
 
Requiem's Avatar
 
~ ~ ~

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Earth Division
Posts: 24,342

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Princes of Tara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by broncosteven View Post
I only have 8 gig of ram installed in my desktop but using a 64gig flash drive I mounted I turned on Ready Boost and dedicated 32gig to it so technically I have 40gig of RAM. It helps with read times some. It helps more on my laptop where I have 4 gig installed RAM and use 3Gig of a 4gig Flash drive. I notice it helps more on the laptop.

I like Kahn's idea of just installing Win7, you can always install an older OS and still be licensed.
Sure, you can install an older operating system. If I built a PC, I'd probably install XP on it for ****s and giggles because I liked it the most. I still didn't like 7, nor do I like 8. My point was that Macs are expandable. It is a myth that they aren't. Time will tell to see how good my Mac is in the long run and if I have any big problems. I've owned numerous Windows laptops (have one with 7 actually) and they have all eventually bit the dust. And it wasn't because I was doing something wrong to kill the system. These were all factory made ones. I have never had a problem with a desktop I created myself.

To each their own. I happen to use both Windows/MacOS on a daily basis. There are things I like and dislike about both.
Requiem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 01:05 PM   #52
broncosteven
Kranz Dictum
 
broncosteven's Avatar
 
Beat the Chefs! Tough and Competent

Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Tranquility Base
Posts: 37,534

Adopt-a-Bronco:
CJ Anderson
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaylore View Post
I never got this either. I have had a virus problem exactly once in the last seven years.

Basically if you have problems with viruses or, heaven forbid, you are paying for virus protection, you are obviously a computer imbecile and a Mac is what you need because they are made imbecile proof.
The only time you get a virus is if you go out looking for one. I have one friend who had a couple viruses a year until he stopped downloading porn. He finally swore off Internets porn and has had one since. The other one I encountered was from a client who installed Freeware from an untrusted source that was infected.

If you use common sense on the internet and keep your anti-virus products updated and don't share USB drives without scanning them right away you will be fine.

I have been using the Free version of AVG Anti-virus and Malware Bytes and not looking for Gene Naked on Porn sites. AVG saves me over $70 bucks now, I am over the limit on Mcafee and Norton licenses at the house.
broncosteven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 01:07 PM   #53
Requiem
~~~
 
Requiem's Avatar
 
~ ~ ~

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Earth Division
Posts: 24,342

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Princes of Tara
Default

You should download CCleaner. It is kid tested, Gene Kranz approved.
Requiem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 01:11 PM   #54
broncosteven
Kranz Dictum
 
broncosteven's Avatar
 
Beat the Chefs! Tough and Competent

Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Tranquility Base
Posts: 37,534

Adopt-a-Bronco:
CJ Anderson
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Requiem View Post
Sure, you can install an older operating system. If I built a PC, I'd probably install XP on it for ****s and giggles because I liked it the most. I still didn't like 7, nor do I like 8. My point was that Macs are expandable. It is a myth that they aren't. Time will tell to see how good my Mac is in the long run and if I have any big problems. I've owned numerous Windows laptops (have one with 7 actually) and they have all eventually bit the dust. And it wasn't because I was doing something wrong to kill the system. These were all factory made ones. I have never had a problem with a desktop I created myself.

To each their own. I happen to use both Windows/MacOS on a daily basis. There are things I like and dislike about both.
Can you buy a new battery for a Mac Laptop? I heard that you couldn't.

I sure wish I could throw in a RAM card to expand the RAM on my iPhone, I had a 64gig card in my ancient AT&T Tilt. Now I am stuck with 16G on the 4S.

Bought my daughter a Chinese knock off Android based Tablet, it has a couple USB ports, SD slot, 100 base NIC, Wireless with 4G internal We can add a couple of USB flash drives and she has endless storage. Can the new iPads do that now?
broncosteven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 01:13 PM   #55
lolcopter
Guest
 

Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaylore View Post
I never got this either. I have had a virus problem exactly once in the last seven years.

Basically if you have problems with viruses or, heaven forbid, you are paying for virus protection, you are obviously a computer imbecile and a Mac is what you need because they are made imbecile proof.
Attention old people who don't know ****: macs can get viruses too, they are just targeted much less frequently
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 01:22 PM   #56
Requiem
~~~
 
Requiem's Avatar
 
~ ~ ~

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Earth Division
Posts: 24,342

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Princes of Tara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by broncosteven View Post
Can you buy a new battery for a Mac Laptop? I heard that you couldn't.
Pretty sure you can. If not, it is replaceable with the Apple Care warranty. I ain't Steve Jobs man, I ain't got time for dat!

Quote:
I sure wish I could throw in a RAM card to expand the RAM on my iPhone, I had a 64gig card in my ancient AT&T Tilt. Now I am stuck with 16G on the 4S.

Bought my daughter a Chinese knock off Android based Tablet, it has a couple USB ports, SD slot, 100 base NIC, Wireless with 4G internal We can add a couple of USB flash drives and she has endless storage. Can the new iPads do that now?
Can you have a USB flash drive with an iPad? In a round about way, yes. With an adapter. Not sure if the new ones got USB ports. I would never get an iPad. I have enough problems with my MaxiPads.
Requiem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 01:23 PM   #57
mhgaffney
Ring of Famer
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 11,424
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaylore View Post
Macs are expensive and impossible to improve. Get a pc with windows 7.
No, they keep finding ways to improve them.
mhgaffney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 01:25 PM   #58
lolcopter
Guest
 

Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mhgaffney View Post
No, they keep finding ways to improve them.
$40 adapters at a time
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 01:25 PM   #59
mhgaffney
Ring of Famer
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 11,424
Default

The Applecare warranty is the real deal.

My Mac got toasted during a thunderstorm -- but luckily was still on warranty. They replaced my mother board free of charge.

Don't shy away from getting the Applecare to save a few bucks. That's penny wize and pound foolish.
mhgaffney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 01:25 PM   #60
Mountain Bronco
Ring of Famer
 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: The Mountains
Posts: 1,676
Default

Didn't read the whole thread, but I use a PC and just got the new windows 8 and I like it, but that said, my wife has a mac book pro and if I had the choice of the two I would go with the Mac. So much more user friendly and the ability to have all my devices syncing would be so nice.
Mountain Bronco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 01:28 PM   #61
lolcopter
Guest
 

Posts: n/a
Default

Syncing devices to something not cloud related is older than **** anyway and shouldn't be a strong draw either way
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 01:41 PM   #62
Requiem
~~~
 
Requiem's Avatar
 
~ ~ ~

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Earth Division
Posts: 24,342

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Princes of Tara
Default

You got a Dell for Christmas, didn't ya Lolcopto?
Requiem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 01:45 PM   #63
lolcopter
Guest
 

Posts: n/a
Default

No is just funny hearing about old people argue about computers around here. Go ask your most literate grandchild, they'll help you all out just fine.

(Herp derp macs don't get viruses yippee)
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 01:46 PM   #64
Popps
It's so easy
 
Popps's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 29,806
Default

I'm on the Mac side of things. Like a few have said, you'll never go wrong that way.

I do hear Windows 8 is a more useable OS than past Windows versions. But, there are compatibility issues with old software versions, etc. (Among other complaints I've heard.)
It's also not much like past versions of Windows... which would of course be a good thing.

Also keep in mind, you're buying a hardware set with a Mac. Windows is just an OS. So it'll largely depend on who makes the computer itself. I personally prefer the dependability and consistency of Mac's hardware sets for my business. (I run 4-6 machines at any given time.) A few hundred extra bucks for a top flight hardware set is nothing in the long-run when you're running business critical functions. So, even if you're going to go with a Windows box... do some research and get a good hardware set. Last thing you want is to be on customer support with some ****-can box-maker.

Good luck.
Popps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 01:49 PM   #65
lolcopter
Guest
 

Posts: n/a
Default

A few hundred bucks doesn't get you **** in Mac land
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 01:52 PM   #66
Requiem
~~~
 
Requiem's Avatar
 
~ ~ ~

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Earth Division
Posts: 24,342

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Princes of Tara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lolcopter View Post
No is just funny hearing about old people argue about computers around here. Go ask your most literate grandchild, they'll help you all out just fine.

(Herp derp macs don't get viruses yippee)
well tEh facts is that got mac back in 2009, 21.5 icnh verzion and lifing the hihg life. works grate with all my appleo devices.
Requiem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 01:54 PM   #67
Requiem
~~~
 
Requiem's Avatar
 
~ ~ ~

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Earth Division
Posts: 24,342

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Princes of Tara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Popps View Post
I'm on the Mac side of things. Like a few have said, you'll never go wrong that way.

I do hear Windows 8 is a more useable OS than past Windows versions. But, there are compatibility issues with old software versions, etc. (Among other complaints I've heard.)
It's also not much like past versions of Windows... which would of course be a good thing.

Also keep in mind, you're buying a hardware set with a Mac. Windows is just an OS. So it'll largely depend on who makes the computer itself. I personally prefer the dependability and consistency of Mac's hardware sets for my business. (I run 4-6 machines at any given time.) A few hundred extra bucks for a top flight hardware set is nothing in the long-run when you're running business critical functions. So, even if you're going to go with a Windows box... do some research and get a good hardware set. Last thing you want is to be on customer support with some ****-can box-maker.

Good luck.
Nice post. Build my own PC from scratch rather than gettin' a Dell or HP or somethin'. I have heard rave reviews about the new Vizio all in ones, but for half the price I could get a 27" monitor + better specs if I really wanted to go that way. Did you have a good Christmas Popps?
Requiem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 01:55 PM   #68
baja
Headmaster
 
baja's Avatar
 
The Fixer

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: in the present moment
Posts: 60,721

Adopt-a-Bronco:
C J Anderson
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lolcopter View Post
A few hundred bucks doesn't get you **** in Mac land
More Choper breath, a few hundred bucks MORE.
baja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 01:57 PM   #69
Requiem
~~~
 
Requiem's Avatar
 
~ ~ ~

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Earth Division
Posts: 24,342

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Princes of Tara
Default

All the 5-Tool Skillset Posters access the Orange Mane on a Mac. Truth.
Requiem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 01:57 PM   #70
broncosteven
Kranz Dictum
 
broncosteven's Avatar
 
Beat the Chefs! Tough and Competent

Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Tranquility Base
Posts: 37,534

Adopt-a-Bronco:
CJ Anderson
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Requiem View Post
Pretty sure you can. If not, it is replaceable with the Apple Care warranty. I ain't Steve Jobs man, I ain't got time for dat!



Can you have a USB flash drive with an iPad? In a round about way, yes. With an adapter. Not sure if the new ones got USB ports. I would never get an iPad. I have enough problems with my MaxiPads.
You said RoundAbout! Now I have to pop a handful of goofballs and dig out my Yes Albums ON VINYL MAN!!!! Only some punk ass kids standing on or near my lawn would listen to YES on an ithingy!

That said I have YES, ELP, Moody Blues, etc... all loaded up eating space on my tiny 16g iphone. Apple needs to listen to more Prog rock and add more RAM cheaper so I can load all my music. Oh well I still have the records and my Bang and Olufsen turntable (and CD's for the car) to fall back on.
broncosteven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 02:00 PM   #71
Requiem
~~~
 
Requiem's Avatar
 
~ ~ ~

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Earth Division
Posts: 24,342

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Princes of Tara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by broncosteven View Post
You said RoundAbout! Now I have to pop a handful of goofballs and dig out my Yes Albums ON VINYL MAN!!!! Only some punk ass kids standing on or near my lawn would listen to YES on an ithingy!

That said I have YES, ELP, Moody Blues, etc... all loaded up eating space on my tiny 16g iphone. Apple needs to listen to more Prog rock and add more RAM cheaper so I can load all my music. Oh well I still have the records and my Bang and Olufsen turntable (and CD's for the car) to fall back on.
Fragile is a fantastic album. Everything Yes did was the ****in' bomb. I don't think my dad has any Yes on vinyl. I get his vinyl collection and record player, etc. -- all those goods when he dies. He has got a really nice set up. It's crazy tho, they are like pieces of furniture.
Requiem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 02:12 PM   #72
24champ
Bring back Kubiak!
 
24champ's Avatar
 
Keep Calm and Chive on

Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Southern California
Posts: 19,971

Adopt-a-Bronco:
DomCasual
Default

I don't have a problem with either OS. They both have positives and have their own drawbacks. I think it boils down to the computer knowledge of the user, not the machine. Some people just buy Window computers because of the price point, most times you pay for what you get.

Cheap=Crap.
24champ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 02:29 PM   #73
OCBronco
Seasoned Veteran
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 256

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Von Miller
Default

I have played around a little with Windows 8, and I like it well enough that I'll probably buy a copy and run it on Parallels on my Mac. Unless you opt for one of the touch screen laptops, you're probably better off running Windows 8 on a Mac because of the superior trackpad.

As for price, there are a few ways to save $, if you know where to look. Microcenter often has deals. One of my favorite places is MacMall. Check out their Open Box Outlet, where you can find stuff steeply discounted. Also, I recommend the Apple refurbished outlet (http://store.apple.com/us/browse/home/specialdeals/mac) . Those products look the same, they come factory reconditioned, and have the same warranty as the new product. I've been able to get some great deals there.
OCBronco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 02:34 PM   #74
OCBronco
Seasoned Veteran
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 256

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Von Miller
Default

If you are going to buy a touchscreen laptop specifically for Windows 8, I think it would make sense to get the Lenovo Yoga (http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Lenovo+-...UJG5R3arSM2oNk ) Just my two cents.
OCBronco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 02:56 PM   #75
Popps
It's so easy
 
Popps's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 29,806
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Requiem View Post
Nice post. Build my own PC from scratch rather than gettin' a Dell or HP or somethin'. I have heard rave reviews about the new Vizio all in ones, but for half the price I could get a 27" monitor + better specs if I really wanted to go that way. Did you have a good Christmas Popps?
Hey Req,

Good indeed. Hope yours was as well!

As for recording software, I'm running Pro Tools HD at the TV network and for my home businesses as well. (TV post and music.) There are entry level versions for about $400, which is a very good deal for what you get now.

Or, if you're more into composing/writing than recording/editing... Logic is still a great option. Pretty cheap and very versatile, professional. I know plenty of guys making a living from Logic, as well as guys tinkering in their basements with it. (Or, their garages since we don't have basements out here.

If you're currently using Garageband, I'd recommend giving Logic a spin as it will feel like a sensible step up for you. You can then add sound libraries, etc as you need them.

Have fun!
Popps is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:37 PM.


Denver Broncos