The Orange Mane -  a Denver Broncos Fan Community  

Go Back   The Orange Mane - a Denver Broncos Fan Community > Jibba Jabba > Off Topics Forum
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Chat Room Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-05-2008, 09:45 AM   #1
dbfan4life
Ring of Famer
 

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Las Cruces, NM
Posts: 2,499
Default OT: Am I being scammed?

I've been looking to upgrade the truck I drive and was browsing craigslist for a used vehicle. I see an add for an '04 Chevrolet Silverado 2500, lifted, 31K miles, I mean just cherry...for $4500. I'm all over this, so I e-mail the guy. He says he has a contract with an escrow company...tells me to send a moneygram for $4500 to this company and they will ship me the truck. So I go to this online escrow website and register. I'm starting to feel like somethings up so I call the number listed on the site...it's a non-working number. I tell the seller my suspicions and he says don't worry. Once they have my money, they will ship the truck. I have a week to decide if I want to keep the truck. If I'm not satisfied, he will pay to ship it back. This seems too good to be true!!! So I go back to craiglist ad....and its gone! Then I see a big disclaimer on craiglist warning of this type of transaction! Either I'm an idiot for passing on this or I'm an idiot for going through with this! I haven't sent any money and am going to back out but damn! The **** people will go through to rob someone blind! Here's the website to this online escrow company: www.autradeals.com Thoughts?
dbfan4life is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 08-05-2008, 10:05 AM   #2
bronclvr
Ring of Famer
 
bronclvr's Avatar
 
She is faster than you! 8.39 @ 156

Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,996
Default

Are you being scammed?


YES!!!!!!!!!!!!


There is no free lunch-granted, I'm seeing Pickup Trucks going for a lot less now, but not for that kind of money-deal with a reputable Dealer or Individual-if it walks like a Duck..............

Last edited by bronclvr; 08-05-2008 at 10:15 AM..
bronclvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 10:15 AM   #3
dbfan4life
Ring of Famer
 

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Las Cruces, NM
Posts: 2,499
Default

Here's a pic of the truck. Nice ride...huh?

http://i301.photobucket.com/albums/n...do5/d578_3.jpg
dbfan4life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 10:22 AM   #4
LordHelmchen
Single-Malt
 
LordHelmchen's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Stuttgart
Posts: 1,064
Default

If it seems to be too good to be true... then it probably is too good to be true.
The website makes me highly suspicious.. for example that you find no google entries for it. You can find something on google if you search for auto trade deals.., but it points to atrdeals.com, which is an under construction site.
And a not working number? That alone is enough...

Stay the hell away from it!!
LordHelmchen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 10:35 AM   #5
Hotrod
Self Appointed Expert
 
Hotrod's Avatar
 
aka Dortoh

Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 25,136

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Miss I
Default

4500 for that truck you have to be ****ting me. Your getting scammed no doubt about it.
Hotrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 11:02 AM   #6
TailgateNut
Bleedin' orange!
 
TailgateNut's Avatar
 
.......as much as tebonites

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mile High
Posts: 20,018

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Howard Griffith
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dbfan4life View Post
Here's a pic of the truck. Nice ride...huh?

http://i301.photobucket.com/albums/n...do5/d578_3.jpg

$4500 Not only a scam, but an ambush!
TailgateNut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 11:11 AM   #7
dbfan4life
Ring of Famer
 

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Las Cruces, NM
Posts: 2,499
Default

E-mailed the guy this morning. Told him if he was serious, put the truck in my driveway. If I liked, I would pay him directly and reimburse the shipping charge
in addition to the $4500 he was asking. He replied back "If you don't trust me then don't buy!".
dbfan4life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 12:46 PM   #8
Hotrod
Self Appointed Expert
 
Hotrod's Avatar
 
aka Dortoh

Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 25,136

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Miss I
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dbfan4life View Post
E-mailed the guy this morning. Told him if he was serious, put the truck in my driveway. If I liked, I would pay him directly and reimburse the shipping charge
in addition to the $4500 he was asking. He replied back "If you don't trust me then don't buy!".

http://www.kbb.com/KBB/UsedCars/Pric...uizConditions=

Thats without knowing what added options are on the truck.
Hotrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 12:55 PM   #9
dbfan4life
Ring of Famer
 

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Las Cruces, NM
Posts: 2,499
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hotrod View Post
http://www.kbb.com/KBB/UsedCars/Pric...uizConditions=

Thats without knowing what added options are on the truck.
Value w/ options.

http://www.kbb.com/KBB/UsedCars/Pric...uizConditions=

He fed me a sob story of how he needed the money for his son's medical bills. Who knows, maybe he's telling the truth....not!
dbfan4life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 01:06 PM   #10
Hotrod
Self Appointed Expert
 
Hotrod's Avatar
 
aka Dortoh

Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 25,136

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Miss I
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dbfan4life View Post
Value w/ options.

http://www.kbb.com/KBB/UsedCars/Pric...uizConditions=

He fed me a sob story of how he needed the money for his son's medical bills. Who knows, maybe he's telling the truth....not!


How far away is it. Tell the dude you will pick it up. Take a couple of friends and have a road trip.
Hotrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 01:26 PM   #11
dbfan4life
Ring of Famer
 

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Las Cruces, NM
Posts: 2,499
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hotrod View Post


How far away is it. Tell the dude you will pick it up. Take a couple of friends and have a road trip.
Said veh was in some hick town in TX. About 600 miles from where I'm at. Would definitely be worth the trip!
dbfan4life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 02:34 PM   #12
Orange_Beard
Over Jay Cutler
 
Orange_Beard's Avatar
 
Todd Snider Rules!

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Leucadia, CA
Posts: 7,836

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Tony Scheffler
Default

They are scamming you. They are ****ing scum bags. Me on the other hand, I am your friend.
If you send me 4500 cash, I will get you ANY truck, you want. You pick the make model what ever you want...

I must have the cash first.
Orange_Beard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 03:17 PM   #13
dbfan4life
Ring of Famer
 

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Las Cruces, NM
Posts: 2,499
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Orange_Beard View Post
They are scamming you. They are ****ing scum bags. Me on the other hand, I am your friend.
If you send me 4500 cash, I will get you ANY truck, you want. You pick the make model what ever you want...

I must have the cash first.
Well, if your a friend and all......why not!!!!
dbfan4life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 04:05 PM   #14
dbfan4life
Ring of Famer
 

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Las Cruces, NM
Posts: 2,499
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hotrod View Post


How far away is it. Tell the dude you will pick it up. Take a couple of friends and have a road trip.
I proposed this to the guy and he asks when can I be there. I tell him this weekend. He says he needs to sell the truck today. I tell him I'll guarantee I'll be there cash in hand. He says he wants me to send the money through that escrow company to ensure that I'm going to buy. I say this is the only way this deal gets done. He says contact him on Friday to see if he still has vehicle. $100 says that truck is sold by then.
dbfan4life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 04:20 PM   #15
Hotrod
Self Appointed Expert
 
Hotrod's Avatar
 
aka Dortoh

Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 25,136

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Miss I
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dbfan4life View Post
I proposed this to the guy and he asks when can I be there. I tell him this weekend. He says he needs to sell the truck today. I tell him I'll guarantee I'll be there cash in hand. He says he wants me to send the money through that escrow company to ensure that I'm going to buy. I say this is the only way this deal gets done. He says contact him on Friday to see if he still has vehicle. $100 says that truck is sold by then.
I'd tell him your uncle is currently on vacation from the FBI in the area and is willing to swing buy and pick it up tonight. You just need the address.
Hotrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 04:45 PM   #16
bronco0608
Ring of Famer
 
New to the Forum

Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,177

Adopt-a-Bronco:
None
Default

What's this dude number? I can call him and tell him I'm interested in the truck (even though I'm not) and see what story he gives me.
bronco0608 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 04:55 PM   #17
dbfan4life
Ring of Famer
 

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Las Cruces, NM
Posts: 2,499
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bronco0608 View Post
What's this dude number? I can call him and tell him I'm interested in the truck (even though I'm not) and see what story he gives me.
I initially contacted him through his craigslist ad (El Paso). It's not there anymore but here's dudes e-mail. paulgordonui@gmail.com His name is Paul Gordon.
dbfan4life is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:11 AM.


Denver Broncos