View Single Post
Old 03-22-2014, 08:55 PM   #47
BowlenBall
UDFA
 
BowlenBall's Avatar
 
War Daddy

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Abu Dhabi
Posts: 6,225

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Jake Butt
Default

With the 46th selection in the 2014 Orange Mane Mock Draft, the Pittsburgh Steelers select:

ILB Chris Borland, Wisconsin



Measurables
Height: 5' 11"
Weight: 248
Arm: 29.25"
Hand: 9.88"
40-yard dash: 4.83
225 lb. bench: 27 reps
Vertical jump: 31"
Broad jump: 9' 06"
3-cone drill: 7.79
Short shuttle: 4.27

Career Statistics


Analysis/Breakdown (from NFL.com)
Strengths
Is built low to the ground and bends his knees. Keen eyes and instincts -- has a nose for the ball. Quick to fill downhill (see goal-line play vs. Ohio State when he stuck RB Carlos Hyde in the hole and drove him back). Motor runs hot -- pursues hard and seldom quits on plays. Flows well laterally. Aware in zone. Capable of bringing pressure as a blitzer. Good leaping ability. Intense competitor who loves to play and it shows. Defensive playmaker -- piled up 50 career TFL and 14 FFs. Started 45 career games. Special intangibles.

Weaknesses
Is short with Tyrannosaurus rex arms -- too easily neutralized (struggles to disengage). Eclipsed by larger offensive linemen. Can do a better job protecting his legs. Average explosion, tackle strength and pop on contact. Lets runners escape his grasp. Exposed in space. Has man-coverage limitations, especially against tight ends (lacks length to match up). Durability could be an issue.

Bottom Line
Short, active, athletic, instinctive tackling machine who will have to overcome physical limitations to establish himself as a dependable, long-term starter, though he has immediate special-teams ability and the makeup to push for a more prominent role.


Rationale for the pick from BowlenBall:

He's a war daddy.



Pick made at:
7:00 a.m. Abu Dhabi
11:00 p.m. New York
10:00 p.m. Chicago
9:00 p.m. Denver
8:00 p.m. Los Angeles
7:00 p.m. Anchorage

The Dallas Cowboys and Nickstixx are now on the clock.

Last edited by BowlenBall; 03-22-2014 at 08:57 PM..
BowlenBall is offline   Reply With Quote