Originally Posted by ZONA
Meh, I think his helmet first hit above the knees. I don't really have a problem with that hit. Doesn't look like Manning hurt himself too bad there. He should be fine.
No defensive player who has an unrestricted path to the quarterback may hit him flagrantly in the area of the knee(s) or below when approaching in any direction.
Manning is probably fine, but the question to me is if the hit meets the rule above and I think it does. They absolutely him in flagrantly in the knee(s) ore below. His arms were around Peyton's calves, not his body, so I don't perceive anything but a deliberate attempt to go low on him. Just my thoughts on the hit, but I've seen less obvious hits penalized so I just wondered why this one wasn't?