View Single Post
Old 03-21-2013, 09:49 PM   #152
BowlenBall
Hurry Hurry
 
BowlenBall's Avatar
 
2014 -- This one's for Pat.

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Abu Dhabi
Posts: 5,264

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Matt Paradis
Default

With the 150th pick in the 2013 Orange Mane Mock Draft, the Pittsburgh Steelers select:

Josh Boyce, WR, TCU



Height: 5' 11"
Weight: 206
40 yard dash: 4.38
10-yard split: 1.56
225-lb. bench: 22 reps
Vertical jump: 34"
Broad jump: 10' 11"
3-cone: 6.68
Short Shuttle: 4.1

Prospect analysis from NFL.com:

OVERVIEW
Boyce was a teammate of 2011 Heisman Trophy winner and the 2012 draft's No. 2 overall pick Robert Griffin III at Copperas Cove High School. And one of their top rivals was Brownwood, the school of embattled TCU quarterback Casey Pachall.

He redshirted his first season in Waco, but became heavily involved in the Horned Frogs' prolific offense quarterbacked by current Cincinnati Bengals starter Andy Dalton in 2010. Boyce played in every game, starting eight of the last nine, and finishing second on the team in receiving yards (646 on 34 catches) and scoring six touchdowns. As a sophomore, Boyce was named a first-team All-Mountain West Conference pick after leading the team in receptions (61), yards (998) and receiving touchdowns (nine). As a junior, despite only playing four games with Pachall as the starting quarterback, Boyce managed 66 catches for 891 yards, and seven touchdowns.

STRENGTHS
Solid overall build with a muscular upper body and strong legs. Lines up outside and in the slot. Displays very good hands. Excellent first three steps off the line to challenge corners, shakes them off the line and has enough speed to get a step down the field. Stems every route in the tree with foot quickness that college corners can't handle, does not have to slow down significantly to make a cut. Tracks the ball well over either shoulder, and shows a good job of high pointing the football in contested situations. Creates space downfield with an arm extension. Tough to bring down after the catch because of his low center of gravity and strength. Aggressive run blocker with the strength to negate his man and stick with the block. Willing to attack safeties stepping up inside if uncovered.

WEAKNESSES
Might be limited to purely playing the slot. Does not bring some difficult catches extended away from his frame that top prospects are expected to snare with their hands. Some college corners could close on him in the open field. Will fall off run blocks instead of sustaining, allowing his man to come off and make a play at times.

NFL COMPARISON
Devery Henderson

BOTTOM LINE
Boyce's average height and maxed-out frame won't wow scouts, but the quickness and strength that made him a playmaker at the college level makes him a potentially dangerous weapon in the slot, with the possibility of being able to line up on the outside.

Rationale for the pick from BowlenBall
The Steelers lost Mike Wallace in free agency, and had a decision to make -- use our first or second round pick on a premium receiver in this draft, or wait until the middle rounds and hope that we can find some gems. We decided to stick with our philosophy of drafting (big uglies early, sexy positions late) and targeted Josh Boyce in the 5th and Tavarres King in the 6th. We're delighted that Boyce was there for us, but very bummed out that King was unexpectedly picked in the 5th. Boyce should be an excellent slot receiver at worst, but has the speed and size to possibly play on the outside as well.



Pick made at:

08:50 a.m. Abu Dhabi
12:50 a.m. New York
11:50 p.m. Dallas
10:50 p.m. Denver
09:50 p.m. Los Angeles
08:50 p.m. Alaska

NickStixx and the Dallas Cowboys are now on the clock....

Last edited by BowlenBall; 03-21-2013 at 09:55 PM..
BowlenBall is offline   Reply With Quote