Originally Posted by That One Guy
Exactly. Another interesting loophole in the rule. As long as they held as long as they did (or longer), all they did was guarantee that at least one more play would occur. Even then, an offensive penalty doesn't usually extend a game so I'd be interested to see how that would be called.
I could be incorrect, and actually probably am. But, If the hold had been called, since the penalty happened on a scoring play, they could have opted to have them enforce the 10 yards on the kick. That extra 10 yards could have made the tee'd up free kick an actual viable outcome. I'm not sure that this is how it would be enforced or if even legal to do so...