Originally Posted by That One Guy
As was pointed out above, it's currently much more beneficial to catch a pass at the one and then score rather than to catch it in the endzone. Until they clarify the rules, that is a quirk that has to be considered. The Alexander catch was clearly a catch by common sense rules but only even gets consideration of incomplete by bad NFL rules. By ruling it the way they did, they're at least getting the call right even if it's for the wrong reason.
Yes, it's more beneficial to catch the ball and lunge for the end zone than it is to catch the ball in the end zone.
Because you can lose the ball after breaking the plane and it is still a touchdown as long as you have control/possession.
This is known.