View Single Post
Old 11-20-2012, 07:35 PM   #59
That One Guy
Producer of Nonsense
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sun and Beachville
Posts: 14,087

Adopt-a-Bronco:
None
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by teknic View Post
The ball did not survive contact with the ground, so it should not have been ruled a touchdown. End of story.

I'm just glad that it didn't affect the outcome of the game. There is no way that it could be argued Alexander had completed the catch and had full control of the ball before he crossed the goalline. The evidence simply isn't there on the replay.
As was pointed out above, it's currently much more beneficial to catch a pass at the one and then score rather than to catch it in the endzone. Until they clarify the rules, that is a quirk that has to be considered. The Alexander catch was clearly a catch by common sense rules but only even gets consideration of incomplete by bad NFL rules. By ruling it the way they did, they're at least getting the call right even if it's for the wrong reason.
That One Guy is offline   Reply With Quote