Originally Posted by Action
Then you're in agreement with me with the rule... however
He already established possession of the ball, he landed on two feet and as he was lunging toward the endzone (making a football move).
So he had 2 feet down, his knee hit the ground as the ball crossed the goal line... all while he was in full control of the ball.
That's pretty clear possession.
You're further ahead with the rule than most people arguing the play in this thread...
I need to see the replay again but to me it looked like Carter (?) contacted him him before he lunged. The color guy thought the same thing. If so, then he should have needed to control it.
I guess they could have said that the contact isnt what sent him to the ground and that he did it under his own power. If so, then play is over when the ball crosses.