Originally Posted by Vine
Yep, I have seen this argument made as well. I have questioned whether possession of the ball crossing the plain of the goalline trumps the NFL catch rule, but I have found no such language in the NFL rulebook making this clear.
You, my friend are a moron. The referee explained it clear as day as I said in the other thread.
These are two true statements as the following will prove:
This is what the referee said word for word:
"After review the ruling on the field is confirmed. The receiver had possession of the ball
and as a second act, set the ball across the goal line.
. Therefore ending the process of the catch
. It is a touchdown."
The reason why setting the ball across the goal line with possession ends the process of the catch because IT'S A TOUCHDOWN WHEN THE BALL CROSSES THE GOAL LINE IN POSSESSION OF A PLAYER, thus, MARKING THE PLAY DEAD that very moment.
THis is literally what I've been saying in this whole thread...
POSSESSION + CROSSING GOAL LINE = TOUCHDOWN PLAY DEAD.
This is not confusing at all.