Originally Posted by LRtagger
No if they had changed the spot of the ball that means we would have won te challenge - whether it resulted in a first down or not.
No, you lose that challenge if its not a first down. I gaurantee you that's how that works.
You can only challenge forward progress with respect to a first down. If forward progress does not result in a first down on the challenge, you lose the challenge (even if they move the ball) and lose your time out. The timeout would not have been important but the loss of the challenge may have been.
edit: Rule 3, Section 9, Part C.5