View Single Post
Old 10-17-2012, 02:28 PM   #49
Ring of Famer
gyldenlove's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Nęstved, DK
Posts: 11,209

Spencer Larsen

Originally Posted by Garcia Bronco View Post
Yes he did. Their knees touched at he moved up to catch the ball. Meaning the defender impeded Holi from catching the ball. That's interference with the fair catch. So you're wrong.
I would argue that not only does Jim Leonhard throw a block that means the Charger gunner can't stop in time but also Holiday is too far back and the muff is not caused by the incidental contact. It is a judgement call, but I can't imagine a lot of refs would throw the rag in that situation.

If Holiday moves up one more step so he gets in range to make the catch then I think the call might be appropriate as he does have right of way and would be blocked by the Charger, but as it stands I think the refs were right in judging that the muff was caused by him being too far back to secure the ball.
gyldenlove is offline   Reply With Quote