Originally Posted by GoBroncos DownUnder
Was I the only person who was scratching their head at some of the calls?
The Rivers "false start" out of shotgun was a phantom call, even after they explained it ... that false start just was NOT THERE at the time the ref threw his flag.
The Rivers "false start" when he was under center ... again, NOT THERE when the flag was thrown.
The Decker "touching" the defender flag ... really? Some of the Denver DBs were mugging SD receivers and didn't get flagged.
You can say they "offset" each other, and that it all works out in the end, but should we really be reduced to the ref's flagging plays to "make amends" for prior calls?
The Rivers one's were false starts, IMO. It's a new rule, and while it might not have been called correctly both times, it was still appropriate.