View Single Post
Old 05-31-2012, 05:54 AM   #342
TheChamp24
Future HOF...CHAMP BAILEY
 
TheChamp24's Avatar
 
The Legend

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Broncos Country
Posts: 5,435
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OrangeSe7en View Post
Thanks for posting that. It's no wonder that I didn't have it memorized. It's so stupid and convoluted.

And to think the owners once went after stolen bases by implementing defensive indifference. And whats even more lame is that they did this at a time when bullpens were becoming highly specialized and the game was moving to one of less speed.

BTW, another stupid rule is how a starting pitcher can qualify for a loss. Lets say a starter pitches 5 innings and is behind 1-0. Giving up a run in 5 innings is very respectable. But then, lets say a reliever comes in, in the 6th inning and gives up 7 runs in the 6th. This would make it 8-0 after 6. At this point, the starter is on the hook for the loss unless his team comes back and scores 8 runs instead of the the 1 that the starter gave up.

The nuance to what/who qualifies for the win loss, like with the save stat, also invites abuse. It's amazing how much more forgiving it is to relievers than starters. Lets say you have a person designated to pitch the 1st inning the way someone pitches the 8th inning. But then after that first inning, you bring in the guy who's responsible for pitching 6 plus innings. The person pitching the 6+ innings is, essentially, the starter, except by not assuming the mound at the beginning of the game, he triggers rules that are much more forgiving. For example, that scenario, that I described above where the 1st inning run gives up 1 run and is behind 1-0, the 6+ inning guy can give up a lot of runs and not be on the hook for a loss. Also, by not assuming the mound at the beginning of the game, the 6+ inning guy(at least typically the case), wouldnt have to pitch 5 innings to qualify for the win.
This....is complete ridiculous-ness.
The pitcher giving up 1 run in 5 innings gets the loss because he was the one who was trailing when he left the game. If his team never comes back to tie it, he lost the game, no matter how good or bad he pitched. I mean, you might have a point if you say his team came back and scored 6 runs in the 8th, but still trailed 7-6, and lost 7-6.
There is nothing wrong really with the wins and losses attributed to pitchers, and frankly wins and losses is kind of a dumb stat to keep record of now.
TheChamp24 is offline   Reply With Quote