View Single Post
Old 05-30-2012, 03:32 PM   #339
OrangeSe7en
Guest
 

Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by houghtam View Post
It's even easier than that. A pitcher gets credited with a save if all four of the following conditions are met:

He is the finishing pitcher in a game won by his team;
He is not the winning pitcher;
He is credited with at least ⅓ of an inning pitched; and
He satisfies one of the following conditions:
He enters the game with a lead of no more than three runs and pitches for at least one inning
He enters the game, regardless of the count, with the potential tying run either on base, at bat or on deck
He pitches for at least three innings

The three innings thing is awesome, you're right. Everything else is subject.
Thanks for posting that. It's no wonder that I didn't have it memorized. It's so stupid and convoluted.

And to think the owners once went after stolen bases by implementing defensive indifference. And whats even more lame is that they did this at a time when bullpens were becoming highly specialized and the game was moving to one of less speed.

BTW, another stupid rule is how a starting pitcher can qualify for a loss. Lets say a starter pitches 5 innings and is behind 1-0. Giving up a run in 5 innings is very respectable. But then, lets say a reliever comes in, in the 6th inning and gives up 7 runs in the 6th. This would make it 8-0 after 6. At this point, the starter is on the hook for the loss unless his team comes back and scores 8 runs instead of the the 1 that the starter gave up.

The nuance to what/who qualifies for the win loss, like with the save stat, also invites abuse. It's amazing how much more forgiving it is to relievers than starters. Lets say you have a person designated to pitch the 1st inning the way someone pitches the 8th inning. But then after that first inning, you bring in the guy who's responsible for pitching 6 plus innings. The person pitching the 6+ innings is, essentially, the starter, except by not assuming the mound at the beginning of the game, he triggers rules that are much more forgiving. For example, that scenario, that I described above where the 1st inning run gives up 1 run and is behind 1-0, the 6+ inning guy can give up a lot of runs and not be on the hook for a loss. Also, by not assuming the mound at the beginning of the game, the 6+ inning guy(at least typically the case), wouldnt have to pitch 5 innings to qualify for the win.

Last edited by OrangeSe7en; 05-30-2012 at 03:55 PM..
  Reply With Quote