View Single Post
Old 05-30-2012, 08:11 AM   #337
houghtam
Ring of Famer
 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 6,405
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by broncocalijohn View Post
^ Nothing wrong with a save for 3 innings as it is rarely done and it is something of an accomplishment for a relief pitcher. The current rule is a joke to qualify for a save. The on deck batter, representing a tie, allows the pitcher to qualify for a save. WTF? The on deck batter isn't even in the game and so a 4 to 1 game with one on and two outs gets the pitcher a save for coming in and facing the one (possible) batter.
It's even easier than that. A pitcher gets credited with a save if all four of the following conditions are met:

He is the finishing pitcher in a game won by his team;
He is not the winning pitcher;
He is credited with at least ⅓ of an inning pitched; and
He satisfies one of the following conditions:
He enters the game with a lead of no more than three runs and pitches for at least one inning
He enters the game, regardless of the count, with the potential tying run either on base, at bat or on deck
He pitches for at least three innings

The three innings thing is awesome, you're right. Everything else is subject.
houghtam is offline   Reply With Quote