View Single Post
Old 05-29-2012, 04:53 PM   #333

Posts: n/a

Originally Posted by TheChamp24 View Post
Saves always gives makes me wonder why 3 runs indicated a save. A pitcher can come into a game with a 4-1 lead, give up back to back homeruns, and then three straight ground ball outs and he gets a save. A closer should be able to protect a 3 run lead in the 9th 99% of the time.
It's not just three runs that qualifies you as a save. You can also qualify by pitching a certain number of innings. I can see why you wouldnt bother mentioning that because the idea of anyoe these days qualifying for a save that way is kind of a joke. But it does make me wonder what would happen if they changed the rules on what qualifies as a save to require a pitcher to pitch more than two innings. Is it such a selling point in contract negotiations that pitchers will either push to pitch three innings at the back end of the game or simply whine because of the rule change.
  Reply With Quote