Blocking a Field Goal at the Posts
I realize this is stale content, given that it happened a month ago, but it's been bugging me ever since it happened and I can't find anything to set it straight.
When Janikowski kicked that long FG in week 1 @ Denver, it cleared the lower crossbar by around 12 to 18 inches. My question is:
Is it legal for the defensive team put a player with mad hops in the end zone to try and "goal tend" the kick when there is a chance that the ball will be coming in low enough to reach? Not sure what the rule allows - thought I'd ask the OM rules committee about that . . .
Last edited by BroncsCheer; 09-30-2011 at 08:00 AM..