Thread: Around The NFL:
View Single Post
Old 08-28-2010, 08:00 AM   #1959
Cito Pelon
Been there, didn't get it
 
Cito Pelon's Avatar
 
Not2Shabby County Seat

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: AFC Championshipville, NotTooShabby County
Posts: 16,606

Adopt-a-Bronco:
Slim Shabby
Default

What's the deal with this penalty being called because the "ball was snapped before the umpire was in position"?

I don't know much about it, but right now I'm thinking this is goofy. The way I understand it is the Field Judge (who used to set up behind the LB's) is now on the offensive side of the ball. He's the guy that spots the ball for the next play, but now he has to run twice as far to set up before the ball can be snapped.
Cito Pelon is offline   Reply With Quote