Originally Posted by summerdenver
Ball never hit the ground so it can't be an incompletion. It was easy to see why ref made the call - it was not clear whether chambers had control of the ball and touched the ground while in control of the ball.
No, I was speaking about the fact that Chambers failed to maintain possession, and he failed to make a move after actually gaining it
Many "receptions" have been overtuned for the same thing. In this case Bailey ended up with the ball.
There was no substantial evidence to overturn the call on the field that he lost possession. Whether his elbow hit the ground or not was not the point,
although the broadcast crew wouldn't stop talking about it, but there was nothing to indicate he maintained it throughout the whole play.
And Wolf, YES, Cutler fumbled, but the rule is the whistle ends the play. That Hochuli blew it ( both the call that it was a pass and the whisltle) is not in question. The replay moved the ball back to the 10, but the whistle ended it before Sd gained possession.
Sucks for SD, good for Cutler and the Broncos.
Almost the same thing happened to us last year on a Paymah or Foxworth fumble return that should have gone for six. Inadvertant whistle stopped the play, but we ALREADY had possession of the ball when the whistle blew.