The Orange Mane -  a Denver Broncos Fan Community

The Orange Mane - a Denver Broncos Fan Community (http://www.orangemane.com/BB/index.php)
-   NBA & NCAA (http://www.orangemane.com/BB/forumdisplay.php?f=46)
-   -   Kenyon preaches non-violence at Montbello H.S. (http://www.orangemane.com/BB/showthread.php?t=46569)

Clockwork Orange 09-13-2006 08:10 PM

Kenyon preaches non-violence at Montbello H.S.

I'm posting this because I want to show that I'm not just looking at the negative things from Kenyon and because I'm a graduate of Montbello High School. :)

http://www.nba.com/nuggets/community...lo_091306.html

It’s not surprising to see Nuggets Forward Kenyon Martin on a basketball court and in the gym. On this particular day he wasn’t working on his game or practicing at the Pepsi Center, he was using his voice to try and make a difference to some of Denver’s youth. On Wednesday, Sept. 13, Martin joined community leaders in the gymnasium at Montbello High School for an anti-gang violence assembly.

The assembly, labeled “Rally to ‘Pass’ on Violence,” was coordinated by the Youth Counseling and Intervention Program (YCIP) and hosted by Denver Public High Schools. It was an effort to combat gang violence among Denver youth after three Montbello students died in the past two years as a result of altercations in the Montbello area.

Fifteen-hundred students crowded the gym, home to the Montbello Warriors, to make a pledge to live lives of non-violence. Standing and repeating after Martin, the Montbello high students recited the following pledge:

“I pledge to take full advantage of becoming an educated, empowered and productive citizen.”

“I pledge to show love and respect for my God, my family, myself, my community and others.”

“I pledge to be non-violent, to use words that show respect, not hatred.”

“I agree to stand firm and honor that which I have pledged.”