The Orange Mane -  a Denver Broncos Fan Community

The Orange Mane - a Denver Broncos Fan Community (http://www.orangemane.com/BB/index.php)
-   MLB (http://www.orangemane.com/BB/forumdisplay.php?f=47)
-   -   basell rule questions (http://www.orangemane.com/BB/showthread.php?t=105567)

05-16-2012 05:13 PM

basell rule questions
 
1.Does tie go to the runner?

2.Does a batter have to attempt to move out of the way if ball coming towrds in in the batter box from the pitcher?

3.Is a foul tip a live ball?

4.Are bats part of the hand?

5.Is the base a safe zone?

6.does the batter have to move if runner is coming from third to score?

These rules are most if not all common good luck all.

Requiem 05-16-2012 08:04 PM

7. Who was Babe Ruth?

Missouribronc 05-16-2012 08:13 PM

Basil is a very good seasoning.

05-17-2012 03:23 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Requiem (Post 3590348)
7. Who was Babe Ruth?

I am more on the line with rules than baseball knowledge smart but i wear my patch very proud knowing who he is.

v2micca 02-21-2014 09:03 AM

This thread is over year old, but I'm bored. So, what the hell.


1.Does tie go to the runner?

But the MLB rule book, ties are to be awarded to the Baserunner.

2.Does a batter have to attempt to move out of the way if ball coming towards in in the batter box from the pitcher?

The rulebook stipulates that the Batter is to attempt to avoid getting hit. I have yet to ever see this rule enforced in my lifetime. Hell, umpires wouldn't even enforce it against players like Mo Vaughn who set up with his right elbow in the strike zone.

3.Is a foul tip a live ball?

No, a foul tip is not a live ball. However, if the catcher can glove the foul tip before it touches the ground, it is treated the same as a swinging strike.

4.Are bats part of the hand?

No, if a batter is hit is hit on the hands, it is considered a HBP.

5.Is the base a safe zone?

This question is ambiguous. Fielders may appeal your right to the bag and tag you out if they believe you made a base running error the violated the rules. Only the lead runner is entitled to the bag, if the lead and trailing runner occupy the same bag, the trailing runner may be tagged out. And, if you are an Atlanta Brave playing in the world series, you may be physically removed from the bag by a fielder and tagged out (still bitter)

6.does the batter have to move if runner is coming from third to score?

Yes, in the case of a wild pitch or passed ball, the Batter must vacate the batter's box while the runner attempts to advance home or he will be called out on interference.

broncocalijohn 04-06-2014 09:02 PM

1. Not necessarilly. Umps want outs...at least in LL.
2. Batter must try to make an attempt to not be hit. Umpire opinion on that. Normally too fast of a pitch so they turn their shoulder. Leaning into a pitch will be a different story.
3. Yes it is if caught.
4. hit by pitch if not swung
5. do not run past that bag on a walk. You are entitled to the base only.
6. Yes, they have plenty of time to move if a play is at the plate. If there is a stolen base going to third, batter does not have to move...let the catcher work around him.

I think I did pretty good without looking at the answers.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:22 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.