PDA

View Full Version : PS3 internet connection help


NFLBRONCO
06-27-2011, 08:49 PM
I have a 20 GB PS3 trying to get online. I went into internet connection I picked easy but, it always says need wired ethernet at the end. I thought these don't need adapter. I have a Netgear wireless router WGR 614 V8. Any suggestions

Archer81
06-27-2011, 08:58 PM
I dont think the 20GB PS3's come in wireless, do they?


:Broncos:

Dutch
06-27-2011, 09:00 PM
I dont think the 20GB PS3's come in wireless, do they?


:Broncos:

Nope, you need a wireless bridge.

Archer81
06-27-2011, 09:02 PM
The system has Bluetooth 2.0 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bluetooth) (with support for up to 7 bluetooth devices<SUP id=cite_ref-52 class=reference>[53] (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PlayStation_3#cite_note-52)</SUP>), gigabit Ethernet (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gigabit_Ethernet), USB 2.0 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Universal_Serial_Bus) and HDMI 1.4 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HDMI_1.4)<SUP id=cite_ref-HDMI_capabilities_53-0 class=reference>[cn 1] (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PlayStation_3#cite_note-HDMI_capabilities-53)</SUP> built in on all currently shipping models. Wi-Fi (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wi-Fi) networking is also built-in on all but the 20 GB models, while a flash card reader (compatible with Memory Stick (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Memory_Stick), SD (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Secure_Digital_card)/MMC (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MultiMediaCard) and CompactFlash (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CompactFlash)/Microdrive (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Microdrive) media) is built-in on 60 GB and CECHExx 80 GB models.<SUP id=cite_ref-SCEASpecs_42-3 class=reference>[43] (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PlayStation_3#cite_note-SCEASpecs-42)</SUP><SUP id=cite_ref-IGNSpecs_51-1 class=reference>[52 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PlayStation_3#cite_note-IGNSpecs-51)</SUP>
<SUP></SUP>
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PlayStation_3

:Broncos:

NFLBRONCO
06-27-2011, 09:02 PM
Nope, you need a wireless bridge.

Which wireless bridge do you recommend or does it matter?

Dutch
06-27-2011, 10:02 PM
Which wireless bridge do you recommend?

I'm using a Cisco Linksys WET610N. Works great for both online gaming and media streaming. Around $65-$100. Been up and running on this one for 3 years without issue.

Los Broncos
06-27-2011, 10:18 PM
Which wireless bridge do you recommend or does it matter?

I have a D-Link, now sure of the model but works well.

DomCasual
06-27-2011, 10:21 PM
This (http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0024G48VA) is what I use. $42.90, and it works fine!

Doggcow
06-27-2011, 10:43 PM
Just run a damn ethernet cable.

Dutch
06-27-2011, 10:45 PM
Just run a damn ethernet cable.

Not always an option. There is no path from my office upstairs to my living room downstairs to run the cable (35 year old house). Bridge works just fine.

Dutch
06-27-2011, 10:48 PM
This (http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0024G48VA) is what I use. $42.90, and it works fine!

That is a good/great deal on the Trendnet.

maher_tyler
06-28-2011, 03:29 PM
I didn't know this..glad i don't have that model...