PDA

View Full Version : any tax experts here?

tsiguy96
02-18-2011, 11:39 AM
i dont know if im a resident of illinois or florida...

my "home address" is still my parents house, but im in florida for grad school. live here, have a job here, everything is here, but im still in school. so given that, am i a FL or IL resident? i also have W2s from IA, but it seems like the more money i enter that i made from outside illinois, the more money i OWE illinois, atleast thats what turbo tax says.

Mr.Meanie
02-18-2011, 11:43 AM

my "home address" is still my parents house, but im in florida for grad school. live here, have a job here, everything is here, but im still in school. so given that, am i a FL or IL resident? i also have W2s from IA, but it seems like the more money i enter that i made from outside illinois, the more money i OWE illinois, atleast thats what turbo tax says.

You live and work primarily in Florida, so that is your place of residence.

Edit... depending on how long you have lived there. IIRC the last time I asked my CPA about this he said your place of residence means where you work, have mail delivered to, and have lived primarily for the year.

tsiguy96
02-18-2011, 11:47 AM
i only lived there from august-present, prior to that it was iowa and illinois

Garcia Bronco
02-18-2011, 11:47 AM
You live and work primarily in Florida, so that is your place of residence.

Edit... depending on how long you have lived there. IIRC the last time I asked my CPA about this he said your place of residence means where you work, have mail delivered to, and have lived primarily for the year.

This. Also make sure your parents are not claiming you on their taxes.

Garcia Bronco
02-18-2011, 11:49 AM

From a State perspective; I think you'll have to file in all three places.

tsiguy96
02-18-2011, 11:49 AM