PDA

View Full Version : Google Search Engine


~Crash~
02-11-2011, 12:45 PM
Am I the only one having a problem with the Google Search Engine I am loading up UK Google Search Engine .:wiggle:

Houshyamama
02-11-2011, 12:53 PM
Maybe it uhh, er.. Crashed.

~Crash~
02-11-2011, 01:32 PM
I wonder if it is vista.. it is fine in the living room computer and it is running windows 7

HILife
02-11-2011, 01:38 PM
Not sure what problems you have. I'm using google with no problem.

oubronco
02-11-2011, 01:42 PM
No problems here with Vista or Windows 7

HILife
02-11-2011, 01:45 PM
Could it be PEBKAC ("Problem Exists Between Keyboard And Chair")?

~Crash~
02-11-2011, 01:51 PM
Could it be PEBKAC ("Problem Exists Between Keyboard And Chair")?

and it was there is a location change on google ... I wonder if this is new never noticed it before.

~Crash~
02-11-2011, 01:52 PM
still it was trying to put me in the UK

~Crash~
02-11-2011, 01:55 PM
last it was putting me up in the fare point of the state . I changed the location in the middel left hand side of the page.

HILife
02-11-2011, 02:27 PM
and it was there is a location change on google ... I wonder if this is new never noticed it before.

Ok, not sure what you said. Are you trying to say that when you type www.google.com you go to www.google.co.uk?

ZachKC
02-11-2011, 02:29 PM
Goog has never failed me.

~Crash~
02-12-2011, 12:54 PM
Ok, not sure what you said. Are you trying to say that when you type www.google.com you go to www.google.co.uk?

yes it did .

Mr. Elway
02-12-2011, 12:56 PM
On the google home page go to search settings and check the location.

Edit: I should expand on this somewhat. Google uses location to make your search more relevant. This is accomplished in a number of ways. If you are not signed into Google anywhere (such as Gmail) it can use your ISP to determine approximate location. If you are on a smartphone or other GPS enabled device and you are sharing your location it can use that. Also you can just specify a location of your choosing using the setting I mentioned above. If you are signed into Google via Gmail or something, that location might be saved in your profile that is used on all Google products. It can also be saved without you being signed in, as a cookie in your browser cache.

Assuming you are on a PC, try clearing your browser cache and reopening. This should default your location back to your ISP.

~Crash~
02-12-2011, 12:57 PM
that is what I did ... still strange.

baja
02-12-2011, 02:00 PM
Google reads your IP address I had to change mine back to english were ever I am anywhere outside the USA. Lots of web sites do that now, change the language of their web site according to where your IP address reads. I have a permanent proxy now.

Chris
02-12-2011, 02:03 PM
Are you wearing a union jack speedo

That might be the cause

bowtown
02-12-2011, 03:29 PM
http://www.prothemer.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2009/12/broken-internet.jpg

That One Guy
02-12-2011, 04:33 PM
I'm regularly amazed with technology. Google being able to track where you are off your IP or phone is insane to me. The other day I called my roadside assistance and they asked if they could just read my location from my phone. I never would've imagined things being so simple just a few years ago.

Los Broncos
02-12-2011, 06:04 PM
No problem searching porn here.

Ratboy
02-12-2011, 09:47 PM
It has me searching through Japan.




















Oh wait.. I am in Japan.

Man-Goblin
02-12-2011, 09:53 PM
What the **** is google?

~Crash~
02-29-2012, 08:19 AM
http://www.mool.com/

they track cookies

http://autosearch.centurylink.com/index.php?origURL=http%3A//www.scroogle.org/cgi-bin/scraper.htm&r=http%3A//www.democraticunderground.com/discuss/duboard.php%3Faz%3Dview_all%26address%3D219x8200

That's not guaranteeing your privacy, since cookies can be used to track internet activity.

Scroogle. No cookies, no search-term records, and access logs are deleted within 48 hours.


I am thinking I am not wanting my movement on the net not followed so close

houghtam
02-29-2012, 08:21 AM
Could it be PEBKAC ("Problem Exists Between Keyboard And Chair")?

Hmm that's a new one, I always use the ID10T error.

glennst
02-29-2012, 08:49 AM
What the **** is google?

It is the legacy predecessor to Bing
http://www.bing.com/

Kaylore
02-29-2012, 09:52 AM
It is the legacy predecessor to Bing
http://www.bing.com/

That's the problem. He's using Bing and doesn't realize it.

HILife
02-29-2012, 01:42 PM
http://www.prothemer.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2009/12/broken-internet.jpg

Cute women. Someone get those two other ugly things off the screen.