PDA

View Full Version : The future on defense

TheReverend
10-04-2010, 10:54 AM
There's some great football on display from this unit the past few weeks, and it's important it stays that way in the future as key positions continue to age.

I've been stamping my foot for another ILB for a few years, but time is not on our side in some key spots that have them more of a priority in 2011 in my eyes: NT and CB.

Bannan has been a pretty solid signing, and I'll be a little surprised if Marcus Thomas isn't a starting DE for us in 2011 with the way he's starting to come along in his spot. Also, both Johnny Jolly and Cullen Jenkins are up for contracts this year. GB probably won't be able to re-sign both. I say we make a big play for which ever becomes available.

Williams and Fields worry me more than a little. I hope the FO is keeping a close eye on Paea, the Tongan kid from Oregon. We should be in a slot with a great chance to get our hands on him come April.

McBath seems poised to slide in for Dawkins full time should he lose another step. Cox continues to get more comfortable, but we should need one more hyper athlete at the spot, two depending on Champ's contract negotiations and the potential switch to S.

Mogulseeker
10-04-2010, 10:57 AM
Paea would play LDE in our system.

Shoemaker
10-04-2010, 11:08 AM
There's some great football on display from this unit the past few weeks, and it's important it stays that way in the future as key positions continue to age.

I've been stamping my foot for another ILB for a few years, but time is not on our side in some key spots that have them more of a priority in 2011 in my eyes: NT and CB.