PDA

View Full Version : Need Tech Help


Ray Finkle
08-12-2010, 06:29 PM
I have a NetGear router and for some reason, I can run my internet wirelessly but not if I wire up my Mac. The Internet light on the router keeps blinking, any suggestions?
Thanks

devantev
08-12-2010, 06:51 PM
Are you getting an ip address by the router?

Ray Finkle
08-12-2010, 07:45 PM
I am running a mac so I forget how to check.

devantev
08-12-2010, 08:13 PM
open up a terminal window under utilities and type ifconfig then enter. you should see it there.

Ray Finkle
08-12-2010, 09:14 PM
open up a terminal window under utilities and type ifconfig then enter. you should see it there.

yes, I am getting an IP address but how do I tell if it is by the router?

CSU Husker
08-12-2010, 09:59 PM
yes, I am getting an IP address but how do I tell if it is by the router?

does the ip address start with 169? What about if you ping 192.168.1.1 or ping google.com any results?

cmhargrove
08-13-2010, 07:24 AM
I have a NetGear router and for some reason, I can run my internet wirelessly but not if I wire up my Mac. The Internet light on the router keeps blinking, any suggestions?
Thanks

1. Make sure you are hooking into the correct RJ45 port of the router (not the internet in).
2. Have you looked in the configuration settings of your router? The manual will probably tell you the IP address of the configuration settings. See if your computer requires authentication, even when it is hard-wired.

Eldorado
08-13-2010, 07:38 AM
Simple:
1) take your mac and all apple accessories and put them in a pile on your driveway.
2) poor gas on them.
3) apply flame.