PDA

View Full Version : Weird - Cable Modem loses connection every night at 2AM


ZONA
06-14-2010, 02:12 AM
I've been noticing that my cable modem has been losing connection at 2AM every night for the past week. I've never seen anything like this before ever and am totally stumped. I've tried to Google this and can't really find anything. Lame ass ISP says they can't help because I use a router. This has nothing to do with the router, it's losing connection at the modem level. It only stays down for about 3 minutes and then reconnects but it still sucks and it's driving me crazy. And for it to lose connection at the same EXACT time every night, well, doesn't that have to be something with the ISP resetting my connection or something? What the heck could it be? Thanks.

BroncoBuff
06-14-2010, 03:13 AM
Wired or wireless?

ZONA
06-14-2010, 03:58 AM
Wired or wireless?

wired

uk bronco
06-14-2010, 04:00 AM
let me know what you find out cos this seems to be happening about 7pm for one of my clients we rent an office to and our tech guys cant get to the bottom of it

BroncoBuff
06-14-2010, 05:15 AM
Call ISP and ask.

shakenbake
06-14-2010, 05:32 AM
Go to bed earlier

Dutch
06-14-2010, 05:40 AM
Sounds like your ISP is doing maintenance or trying to isolate a problem on their network. They may just be doing some network upgrading or optimization. If you are a home user, chances are you will get nothing but the runaround from the "helpless" desk. Have you called them right when it goes down? You might get lucky if you tell them your service is down, just to get to an actual network tech. Then explain the situation. Who is the ISP?

chrisp
06-14-2010, 05:44 AM
Definitely sounds like a session problem rather than a hardware problem. Thing is, its going to be hard for the ISP to isolate the problem so you're going to have to push them hard to resolve it. Something, somewhere in their network is killing your session at the same time every night (and if it is PRECISELY the same time then likelihood is that is a piece of kit. If it varies then it could be a human being doing maintence) but the issue will probably need to be escalated to a higher level internally to get someone on the job who actually has the technical and or operational knowledge to find the problem.

So, you're facing a world of pain to get this fixed, even though it may turn out in the end to be a very simple problem that gets fixed easily once found. Ask yourself how much pain this issue is really causing you. If its substantial then go for it, if not i would suggest you just live with it, unless it starts happening at other times as well and generally getting worse.

I don't think its anything to do with your router, but it wouldn't hurt to humour the ISP by trying to connect without it to see if you get the same problem. You should be able to plug the cable modem directly into your PC or laptop ethernet port and leave it there overnight. Of course, how you then tell if it disconnected or not is something that the ISP may have to help you with as you won't get the same diagnostics from that setup as you might with the router, but it may be necessary to to do get the ISP to pull their finger out and start looking into the problem.

Dutch
06-14-2010, 05:52 AM
let me know what you find out cos this seems to be happening about 7pm for one of my clients we rent an office to and our tech guys cant get to the bottom of it

Do they use an evening cleaning crew? If so, see if they are plugging a vacuum cleaner into any shared power source with the network equipment. Believe it or not I've seen this more times than I can count. Most routers and modems can get a little flakey if they are on a power circuit that takes the kind of hit that a vac can cause. I've also seen dishwashers, toaster ovens, and large coffee makers cause this problem. Makes troubleshooting a nightmare as you have to be onsite at the moment the problem occurs. This is most often a problem in smaller offices where the network access is a small rack type setup that is just using a regular power outlet as opposed to a dedicated electrical circuit just for the equipment.

gyldenlove
06-14-2010, 07:21 AM
I used to work level 2 support for a pretty big ISP and I can tell you what the problem is. At a given time at night a worldwide signal is transmitted to reset an emergency system that is build into different electronics, if a unit expecting this signal does recieve the signal it will not reset the emergency counter which counts down 72 hours, so after 72 hours of not recieving the signal the unit will activate the emergency protocol assuming that something catastrophic has happened, when the emergency protocol is activated the unit will assume its robot form and prepare to go after decepticons. Unfortunately some non-compliant hardware will reset when the signal is recieved causing temporary loss of service.

baja
06-14-2010, 07:27 AM
The Trilateral Commission is installing secret video and audio monitoring software on your network so big brother can keep an eye on you and your millions of fellow subscribers.

mkporter
06-14-2010, 08:09 AM
I've been noticing that my cable modem has been losing connection at 2AM every night for the past week. I've never seen anything like this before ever and am totally stumped. I've tried to Google this and can't really find anything. Lame ass ISP says they can't help because I use a router. This has nothing to do with the router, it's losing connection at the modem level. It only stays down for about 3 minutes and then reconnects but it still sucks and it's driving me crazy. And for it to lose connection at the same EXACT time every night, well, doesn't that have to be something with the ISP resetting my connection or something? What the heck could it be? Thanks.

At one point, I had a issue similar to this, although I would often lose connection entirely and have to reset my wireless router. If I had to throw a wild guess out there, I would say it has something to do with DHCP lease time and renewal. The default lease time is often set to 24 hours, and if something is not going right in the the DHCP process, it could be resetting your connection when getting a new IP address, instead of just renewing the address you already have. Try messing with your lease time, and see if that changes when the problem occurs.

Beantown Bronco
06-14-2010, 08:37 AM
guys, guys.....you're making this waaaay too complicated. I set up a hidden camera in Zona's living room and recorded everything that happened last night. Here's what I found:


<object style="height: 344px; width: 425px"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/PJW3Jpqjx5s"><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"><param name="allowScriptAccess" value="always"><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/PJW3Jpqjx5s" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" width="425" height="344"></object>

jhns
06-14-2010, 09:25 AM
It sounds to me like your isp is running updates/restarting servers. It is that or you have something scheduled to run on your computer at 2 every morning and that program is screwing up your connection. I have seen that happen with certain virus scans.

enjolras
06-14-2010, 09:26 AM
I've had a modem do something similar when it got into a firmware upgrade loop. It would detach and attempt to apply a patch (that didn't exist), fail, and restart. The cycle would repeat every night.

I had to re-flash the firmware to make it stop.

Cito Pelon
06-14-2010, 10:03 AM
Sounds like your ISP is doing maintenance or trying to isolate a problem on their network. They may just be doing some network upgrading or optimization. If you are a home user, chances are you will get nothing but the runaround from the "helpless" desk. Have you called them right when it goes down? You might get lucky if you tell them your service is down, just to get to an actual network tech. Then explain the situation. Who is the ISP?

Probably so. That's the most plausible explanation.

On the other hand, dude could be under watch from the FBI, RushLimbaugh.org, even aliens. I'm gonna be sure to be offline at 0200. Just in case.

Garcia Bronco
06-14-2010, 10:04 AM
Probably a rebooted switch at your ISP

TexanBob
06-14-2010, 10:38 AM
If the problem happens at the exact same time every night, this is going to be a maintenance or update issue and likely a computer-run program controlling the time it is executed. If the time fluctuates, it is likely to be a manual issue, such as a cleaning crew or a night operator.

If it is a computer-maintenace problem, good luck getting anyone to fess up to it but your only hope is to document it. Do you have any program that can log outages?

Garcia Bronco
06-14-2010, 10:44 AM
Probably a rebooted switch at your ISP

Popps
06-14-2010, 10:47 AM
http://images.tribe.net/tribe/upload/photo/0b5/153/0b515367-12e1-402f-ab03-ea8c743d7253

broncosteven
06-14-2010, 10:47 AM
I've been noticing that my cable modem has been losing connection at 2AM every night for the past week. I've never seen anything like this before ever and am totally stumped. I've tried to Google this and can't really find anything. Lame ass ISP says they can't help because I use a router. This has nothing to do with the router, it's losing connection at the modem level. It only stays down for about 3 minutes and then reconnects but it still sucks and it's driving me crazy. And for it to lose connection at the same EXACT time every night, well, doesn't that have to be something with the ISP resetting my connection or something? What the heck could it be? Thanks.

I have AT&T Uverse, when I had it installed they only offered DHCP as an option for internal hardware firewalls.

I set it up that way and everything was running great through the pinhole and never had an issue.

Then around the beginning of April or May this year I was dropping my connection and after troubleshooting my gear for a few days called AT&T support.

The kid came out and after a couple hours he told me that they did a firmware upgrade the night my trouble started. Since my gear is CPE (my gear, not theirs) they wouldn't support my setup but offered another support line I could call for $50 to help troubleshoot MY GEAR. He did swap out their Router but once it got the same firmware update later that night it all started again.

I looked around for other issues on the web for a couple days and couldn't find anything so I decided to set my Firewall and AT&T router to use a Static IP.

Once I set it to Static everything has been fine. If they would have told me I needed to change from DHCP to Static I could have saved a good 15-20 hours of my life.

I am guessing their firmware changed the DHCP scope in some way and when it gave out a new DHCP address my Cisco Firewall needed the port to be reset before it would take the new address.

Who is your provider, what kind of hardware Firewall are you using and how is your IP address configured?

LonghornBronco
06-14-2010, 12:58 PM
This happens to be the exact time that Tim Tebow downloads all the information he has aquired during the day. Not saying thats the reason just giving facts.
:tebow:

Dutch
06-14-2010, 03:51 PM
I have AT&T Uverse, when I had it installed they only offered DHCP as an option for internal hardware firewalls.

I set it up that way and everything was running great through the pinhole and never had an issue.

Then around the beginning of April or May this year I was dropping my connection and after troubleshooting my gear for a few days called AT&T support.

The kid came out and after a couple hours he told me that they did a firmware upgrade the night my trouble started. Since my gear is CPE (my gear, not theirs) they wouldn't support my setup but offered another support line I could call for $50 to help troubleshoot MY GEAR. He did swap out their Router but once it got the same firmware update later that night it all started again.

I looked around for other issues on the web for a couple days and couldn't find anything so I decided to set my Firewall and AT&T router to use a Static IP.

Once I set it to Static everything has been fine. If they would have told me I needed to change from DHCP to Static I could have saved a good 15-20 hours of my life.

I am guessing their firmware changed the DHCP scope in some way and when it gave out a new DHCP address my Cisco Firewall needed the port to be reset before it would take the new address.

Who is your provider, what kind of hardware Firewall are you using and how is your IP address configured?

Sounds like this is right in the wheelhouse.

Los Broncos
06-14-2010, 03:55 PM
The porn cutoff is 2 am so theres your answer.

Killericon
06-14-2010, 04:20 PM
Probably something to do with the 4 gbs of porn you download at 1:45AM.

OABB
06-14-2010, 05:29 PM
I saw on google that there is a virus that does this exactly at 2. It is caught only from watching German schiezer videos.

Cleo McDowell
06-14-2010, 08:38 PM
Probably something to do with the 4 gbs of porn you download at 1:45AM.

PC in office: working device
PC at home: Personal Porn Device

this is why I try to never use someone else's CPU. especially if its in their bedroom.

Sometimes I even question using my own ;D.