PDA

View Full Version : Bill Belichick really was a true mentor to Josh McDaniels

Bronco Yoda
10-09-2009, 07:58 PM
It would appear that McDaniels didn't just work with the sith lord but was actually personally mentored by him...unlike other coaches from Patsy land that have gone on to coaching elsewhere.

http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2009/writers/jim_trotter/10/06/mcdaniels.belichick/index.html

..."I had been talking to Bill for a few years about being a head coach, and after I didn't do any interviews during the bye week in the '07 playoffs he said, 'I will help you in any way I can to get you ready for all the other things that go into the job,'" McDaniels said. "Just being around him every day was going to help me from a football standpoint because I could see what he did and how he did it. But he was saying he would help me with some of the things that you won't really get a chance to witness or understand or become knowledgeable about until you're in that position.

"I remember when we first came back after our break, that very first day, that very first morning, he brought me into his office and he gave me five pages, typed, of all the topics and things that he felt like I needed to be educated about to become an effective head coach. I'm thinking to myself, here he's got 10 or 12 days where he can do whatever in the hell he wants to do -- we've just come off a season where we were 16-0 and lost in the Super Bowl -- and the very first day back he gives me this? That was kind of like my bible."

During the 2008 season, the men met for an hour here, 30 minutes there, until they had addressed every point in the report. From there McDaniels developed 60 to 65 questions of his own that he carried into job interviews with Cleveland and Denver earlier this year. ...

Rock Chalk
10-09-2009, 07:59 PM
So young padawan, the Sith apprentice has infiltrated teh Jedi Academy.

Always two there are, the master and the apprentice.

cutthemdown
10-09-2009, 08:13 PM