PDA

View Full Version : Pears will start at left guard...for Raiders

HEAV
09-23-2009, 08:59 PM
;D

By Jerry McDonald - NFL Writer
Wednesday, September 23rd, 2009 at 3:17 pm in Oakland Raiders.

Rather than create change at two positions, Raiders coach Tom Cable said Wednesday Erik Pears will replace Robert Gallery at left guard when Oakland hosts the Denver Broncos.

Cable said Pears has every position along the offensive line in the NFL, but the only game action has been at right and left tackle, where he had 26 starts with Denver in 2006 and 2007. Pears had seven starts at guard for the Cologne Centurions of NFL Europe in 2005.

Starting Pears at guard will enable to keep Chris Morris at center.

“I think one move rather than two is the way I felt,” Cable said. “That was the deciding factor.”

It’s another indication that Samson Satele, acquired by trade (the Raiders gave up a sixth round pick and swapped fourth-round selections) from Miami in the offseason to replace Jake Grove, has fallen far below expectations.

Morris is considered more versatile and better at making line calls and sight adjustments, something which will be crucial against a Denver 3-4 defense which Cable said can send pressure from different angles.

http://www.ibabuzz.com/oaklandraiders/2009/09/23/pears-will-start-at-left-guard/

underrated29
09-23-2009, 10:03 PM
Pears sucked balls for us at LT. Doom and Ayers are going to eat him alive. Either that or they have to bring Zac the TE in to help. Which favors us even more as he is their best receiving weapon.

Killericon
09-23-2009, 10:33 PM
Pears sucked balls for us at LT. Doom and Ayers are going to eat him alive. Either that or they have to bring Zac the TE in to help. Which favors us even more as he is their best receiving weapon.

No way. He was good as an LT filling in for Lepsis, and then he sucked as an RT.

listopencil
09-23-2009, 10:39 PM
Didn't he play at the same time as Foster? Because Foster made everybody else look great.