PDA

View Full Version : So I started my own business...

Rock Chalk
06-11-2009, 05:37 PM
As many of you know I am a web developer and after working with many folks over the past 4 years and watching them collect all the money I decided I was going to do it on my own.

Well, today I just landed a monstrous client that will be sending literally dozens of companies to my company every year.

Now I know I need to do some more stuff but I was wondering if any of you had your own businesses and what all else I need to do before Im really ready to go. So far I have my LLC and my business bank account set up, but Im pretty sure there is more to it than that. What else will I need to do to get things going as far as taxes and such.

I am the sole proprietor but I have 2 other associates, while not legally entitled to anything, are essentially partners in this endeavor.

IF you are interested in taking a look we can be found here: www.novanetonline.com, but really Im just looking for some free advice on what else needs to happen for my business to be 100% ready to go.

Northman
06-11-2009, 05:48 PM
Tech Support?

bronco610
06-11-2009, 05:52 PM
Insurance, an agreement between you and the 2 associates. The smart thing to do since you already are an LLC is to pay yourself a salary and have taxes taken out . Use one of the payroll companies. Thats just the first couple of things. I have owned several businesses and would need more info about yours before giving you further advice but one thing if you can afford it is a CPA familiar with your type business. It will save you a lot of headaches and let you concentrate on doing the work instead of the books.

Rock Chalk
06-11-2009, 05:53 PM
Tech Support?

Sometimes. Tech support related to websites, but thats not really what we do.

We develop websites, from design to restructuring. Overhaul static sites to Database driven sites, manage marketing campaigns, hosting, e-commerce, troubleshooting existing systems, etc.

Meck77