PDA

View Full Version : Where's the Beef? Draft 2009


LonghornBronco
04-10-2009, 07:27 AM
In light of the deficiencies from last year and the stated preference of bigger stronger players by new coach Josh McDaniels, it appears the Broncos will target some of the more "meatier" players in this years draft.

During the last two years this squad has given up critical yards in the red zone and on first and second down litterally at the opponents will. The Shannahan era is marked by fast starts and late season fades. Shannahan was a genius at jumping on teams out of the gate, but neglecting the D resulted in a hold on by the skin of your teeth for a win, finish. The tendancy of the d during this era was for late season fade about the time of the season you want to be playing your best. These problems point to a severe lack of muscle in the core of the d and a propensity to wear down as the season progresses.

Not only has McDaniels said we will go bigger, it's the Patriot/Bellichek/Parcells method of oporation.

So the question I'm proposing is, if this is the focus of the team who do you think best fits this mold at each of the Bronco's picks?

LonghornBronco
04-10-2009, 07:31 AM
Tyson Jackson at 6'-4" 296.

would add some muscle to the 5 tech DE spot that looks vacant right now.

LonghornBronco
04-10-2009, 07:33 AM
Robert Ayers at 6'-3" 272.

I think he could carry some more weight and not loose too much.

LonghornBronco
04-10-2009, 07:39 AM
Malcom Jenkins 6'-1" 204.

Has good size, speed, instincts, to be an effective FS from day one. Could also be a physical corner you look for in a Belichec 3-4 defense.

oubronco
04-10-2009, 07:43 AM
• NAME: Ron Brace (http://www.nfl.com/combine/profiles/ron-brace?id=79535)
• POSITION: Defensive Tackle
• COLLEGE: Boston College
• HEIGHT: 6'3"
• WEIGHT: 330
• HOMETOWN: Springfield, MA

LonghornBronco
04-10-2009, 07:43 AM
Rey Maualuga 6'-2" 255.


Looks stout at ILB and plays heavier than his reported weight.

oubronco
04-10-2009, 07:46 AM
<TABLE borderColor=#ffffff cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=4 width=552 bgColor=#ffffff border=0><TBODY><TR bgColor=#e5e5e5><TD vAlign=top width=552> NAME: Robert Ayers (http://www.nfl.com/combine/profiles/robert-ayers?id=71193)
POSITION: Defensive End
COLLEGE: Tennessee
HEIGHT: 6'3"
WEIGHT: 272
HOMETOWN: Clio, SC
<HR> NAME: Chris Baker (http://www.nfl.com/combine/profiles/chris-baker?id=79529)
POSITION: Defensive Lineman
COLLEGE: Hampton
HEIGHT: 6'2"
WEIGHT: 326
HOMETOWN: Windsor, CT
<HR> NAME: Connor Barwin (http://www.nfl.com/combine/profiles/connor-barwin?id=71197)
POSITION: Defensive End
COLLEGE: Cincinnati
HEIGHT: 6'4"
WEIGHT: 256
HOMETOWN: Hazel Park, MI
<HR> NAME: Michael Bennett (http://www.nfl.com/combine/profiles/michael-bennett?id=71205)
POSITION: Defensive End
COLLEGE: Texas A&M
HEIGHT: 6'4"
WEIGHT: 274
HOMETOWN: Alief, TX
<HR> NAME: Demonte' Bolden (http://www.nfl.com/combine/profiles/demonte'-bolden?id=79533)
POSITION: Defensive Tackle
COLLEGE: Tennessee
HEIGHT: 6'3"
WEIGHT: 282
HOMETOWN: Chattanooga, TN
<HR> NAME: Ron Brace (http://www.nfl.com/combine/profiles/ron-brace?id=79535)
POSITION: Defensive Tackle
COLLEGE: Boston College
HEIGHT: 6'3"
WEIGHT: 330
HOMETOWN: Springfield, MA
<HR> NAME: Cody Brown (http://www.nfl.com/combine/profiles/cody-brown?id=80632)
POSITION: Defensive End
COLLEGE: Connecticut
HEIGHT: 6'2"
WEIGHT: 244
HOMETOWN: Coral Springs, FL
<HR> NAME: Victor Butler (http://www.nfl.com/combine/profiles/victor-butler?id=80725)
POSITION: Defensive End
COLLEGE: Oregon State
HEIGHT: 6'2"
WEIGHT: 248
HOMETOWN: Rialto, CA
<HR> NAME: Ian Campbell (http://www.nfl.com/combine/profiles/ian-campbell?id=71241)
POSITION: Defensive End
COLLEGE: Kansas State
HEIGHT: 6'4"
WEIGHT: 265
HOMETOWN: Cimarron, KS
<HR> NAME: Rulon Davis (http://www.nfl.com/combine/profiles/rulon-davis?id=71275)
POSITION: Defensive End
COLLEGE: California
HEIGHT: 6'5"
WEIGHT: 281
HOMETOWN: San Diego, CA
<HR> NAME: Will Davis (http://www.nfl.com/combine/profiles/will-davis?id=71277)
POSITION: Defensive End
COLLEGE: Illinois
HEIGHT: 6'2"
WEIGHT: 261
HOMETOWN: Greenbelt, MD
<HR> NAME: Pannel Egboh (http://www.nfl.com/combine/profiles/pannel-egboh?id=71289)
POSITION: Defensive End
COLLEGE: Stanford
HEIGHT: 6'6"
WEIGHT: 276
HOMETOWN: Mesquite, TX
<HR> NAME: Larry English (http://www.nfl.com/combine/profiles/larry-english?id=80423)
POSITION: Defensive End
COLLEGE: Northern Illinois
HEIGHT: 6'2"
WEIGHT: 274
HOMETOWN: Aurora, IL
<HR> NAME: Maurice Evans (http://www.nfl.com/combine/profiles/maurice-evans?id=81286)
POSITION: Defensive End
COLLEGE: Penn State
HEIGHT: 6'2"
WEIGHT: 265
HOMETOWN: Brooklyn, NY
<HR> NAME: Marlon Favorite (http://www.nfl.com/combine/profiles/marlon-favorite?id=81817)
POSITION: Defensive Tackle
COLLEGE: LSU
HEIGHT: 6'1"
WEIGHT: 314
HOMETOWN: Harvey, LA
<HR> NAME: Jarron Gilbert (http://www.nfl.com/combine/profiles/jarron-gilbert?id=79559)
POSITION: Defensive End
COLLEGE: San Jose State
HEIGHT: 6'5"
WEIGHT: 288
HOMETOWN: Chino, CA
<HR> NAME: Adrian Grady (http://www.nfl.com/combine/profiles/adrian-grady?id=79561)
POSITION: Defensive Tackle
COLLEGE: Louisville
HEIGHT: 6'1"
WEIGHT: 298
HOMETOWN: Nichollsville, GA
<HR> NAME: Ra'shon Harris (http://www.nfl.com/combine/profiles/ra'shon-harris?id=79567)
POSITION: Defensive Tackle
COLLEGE: Oregon
HEIGHT: 6'4"
WEIGHT: 298
HOMETOWN: Pittsburg, CA
<HR> NAME: Sammie Lee Hill (http://www.nfl.com/combine/profiles/sammie-lee-hill?id=79571)
POSITION: Defensive Tackle
COLLEGE: Stillman
HEIGHT: 6'4"
WEIGHT: 329
HOMETOWN: West Blockton, AL
<HR> NAME: Evander Hood (http://www.nfl.com/combine/profiles/evander-hood?id=79575)
POSITION: Defensive Tackle
COLLEGE: Missouri
HEIGHT: 6'3"
WEIGHT: 300
HOMETOWN: Amarillo, TX
<HR> NAME: Corvey Irvin (http://www.nfl.com/combine/profiles/corvey-irvin?id=79579)
POSITION: Defensive Tackle
COLLEGE: Georgia
HEIGHT: 6'3"
WEIGHT: 301
HOMETOWN: Augusta, GA
<HR> NAME: Tim Jamison (http://www.nfl.com/combine/profiles/tim-jamison?id=71343)
POSITION: Defensive End
COLLEGE: Michigan
HEIGHT: 6'3"
WEIGHT: 256
HOMETOWN: Riverdale, IL
<HR> NAME: Ricky Jean-Francois (http://www.nfl.com/combine/profiles/ricky-jean-francois?id=79583)
POSITION: Defensive Tackle
COLLEGE: LSU
HEIGHT: 6'3"
WEIGHT: 295
HOMETOWN: Miami, FL
<HR> NAME: Michael Johnson (http://www.nfl.com/combine/profiles/michael-johnson?id=71351)
POSITION: Defensive End
COLLEGE: Georgia Tech
HEIGHT: 6'7"
WEIGHT: 266
HOMETOWN: Selma, AL
<HR> NAME: Mitch King (http://www.nfl.com/combine/profiles/mitch-king?id=71357)
POSITION: Defensive Tackle
COLLEGE: Iowa
HEIGHT: 6'2"
WEIGHT: 280
HOMETOWN: Burlington, IA
<HR> NAME: Terrance Knighton (http://www.nfl.com/combine/profiles/terrance-knighton?id=81841)
POSITION: Defensive Tackle
COLLEGE: Temple
HEIGHT: 6'3"
WEIGHT: 321
HOMETOWN: Windsor, CT
<HR> NAME: Paul Kruger (http://www.nfl.com/combine/profiles/paul-kruger?id=80656)
POSITION: Defensive End
COLLEGE: Utah
HEIGHT: 6'4"
WEIGHT: 263
HOMETOWN: Orem, UT
<HR> NAME: Alex Magee (http://www.nfl.com/combine/profiles/alex-magee?id=79601)
POSITION: Defensive Lineman
COLLEGE: Purdue
HEIGHT: 6'3"
WEIGHT: 298
HOMETOWN: Oswego, IL
<HR> NAME: Sen'Derrick Marks (http://www.nfl.com/combine/profiles/sen'derrick-marks?id=79603)
POSITION: Defensive Tackle
COLLEGE: Auburn
HEIGHT: 6'2"
WEIGHT: 306
HOMETOWN: Mobile, AL
<HR> NAME: Orion Martin (http://www.nfl.com/combine/profiles/orion-martin?id=80662)
POSITION: Defensive End
COLLEGE: Virginia Tech
HEIGHT: 6'2"
WEIGHT: 262
HOMETOWN: Martinsville, VA
<HR> NAME: Aaron Maybin (http://www.nfl.com/combine/profiles/aaron-maybin?id=80433)
POSITION: Defensive End
COLLEGE: Penn State
HEIGHT: 6'4"
WEIGHT: 249
HOMETOWN: Ellicott City, MD
<HR> NAME: Roy Miller (http://www.nfl.com/combine/profiles/roy-miller?id=79611)
POSITION: Defensive Tackle
COLLEGE: Texas
HEIGHT: 6'1"
WEIGHT: 310
HOMETOWN: Killeen, TX
<HR> NAME: Khalif Mitchell (http://www.nfl.com/combine/profiles/khalif-mitchell?id=79613)
POSITION: Defensive Lineman
COLLEGE: East Carolina
HEIGHT: 6'5"
WEIGHT: 318
HOMETOWN: Virginia Beach, VA
<HR> NAME: Kyle Moore (http://www.nfl.com/combine/profiles/kyle-moore?id=71403)
POSITION: Defensive End
COLLEGE: Southern Cal
HEIGHT: 6'5"
WEIGHT: 272
HOMETOWN: Kathleen, GA
<HR> NAME: Zach Potter (http://www.nfl.com/combine/profiles/zach-potter?id=71437)
POSITION: Defensive End
COLLEGE: Nebraska
HEIGHT: 6'7"
WEIGHT: 279
HOMETOWN: Omaha, NE
<HR> NAME: Myron Pryor (http://www.nfl.com/combine/profiles/myron-pryor?id=79856)
POSITION: Defensive Tackle
COLLEGE: Kentucky
HEIGHT: 6'0"
WEIGHT: 319
HOMETOWN: Louisville, KY
<HR> NAME: Darryl Richard (http://www.nfl.com/combine/profiles/darryl-richard?id=79633)
POSITION: Defensive Tackle
COLLEGE: Georgia Tech
HEIGHT: 6'3"
WEIGHT: 303
HOMETOWN: Destrehan, LA
<HR> NAME: Dorrell Scott (http://www.nfl.com/combine/profiles/dorell-scott?id=79641)
POSITION: Defensive Tackle
COLLEGE: Clemson
HEIGHT: 6'3"
WEIGHT: 312
HOMETOWN: Columbia, SC
<HR> NAME: Matt Shaughnessy (http://www.nfl.com/combine/profiles/matt-shaughnessy?id=79643)
POSITION: Defensive End
COLLEGE: Wisconsin
HEIGHT: 6'5"
WEIGHT: 266
HOMETOWN: Norwich, CT
<HR> NAME: Lawrence Sidbury, Jr. (http://www.nfl.com/combine/profiles/lawrence-sidbury-jr.?id=71463)
POSITION: Defensive End
COLLEGE: Richmond
HEIGHT: 6'2"
WEIGHT: 266
HOMETOWN: Cheltenham, MD
<HR> NAME: Stryker Sulak (http://www.nfl.com/combine/profiles/stryker-sulak?id=71477)
POSITION: Defensive End
COLLEGE: Missouri
HEIGHT: 6'5"
WEIGHT: 251
HOMETOWN: Rockdale, TX
<HR> NAME: Terrance Taylor (http://www.nfl.com/combine/profiles/terrance-taylor?id=79655)
POSITION: Defensive Tackle
COLLEGE: Michigan
HEIGHT: 6'0"
WEIGHT: 306
HOMETOWN: Muskegon, MI
<HR> NAME: David Veikune (http://www.nfl.com/combine/profiles/david-veikune?id=71505)
POSITION: Defensive End
COLLEGE: Hawaii
HEIGHT: 6'2"
WEIGHT: 257
HOMETOWN: Wahiawa, HI
<HR> NAME: Derek Walker (http://www.nfl.com/combine/profiles/derek-walker?id=71509)
POSITION: Defensive End
COLLEGE: Illinois
HEIGHT: 6'4"
WEIGHT: 268
HOMETOWN: Glendale Heights, IL
<HR> NAME: Vance Walker (http://www.nfl.com/combine/profiles/vance-walker?id=79657)
POSITION: Defensive Tackle
COLLEGE: Wisconsin
HEIGHT: 6'2"
WEIGHT: 304
HOMETOWN: Fort Mill, SC
<HR> NAME: Brandon Williams (http://www.nfl.com/combine/profiles/brandon-williams?id=71515)
POSITION: Defensive End
COLLEGE: Texas Tech
HEIGHT: 6'5"
WEIGHT: 252
HOMETOWN: Fort Worth, TX
<HR> NAME: Jarius Wynn (http://www.nfl.com/combine/profiles/jarius-wynn?id=81885)
POSITION: Defensive End
COLLEGE: Georgia
HEIGHT: 6'3"
WEIGHT: 275
HOMETOWN: Lincolnton, GA
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

BroncoMan4ever
04-10-2009, 11:28 AM
Beanie Wells 6ft 240lbs
Rashad Jennings 6ft 235lbs

LonghornBronco
04-10-2009, 12:15 PM
Terrance Taylor 6'-0" 306 DT/NT Michegan

Being a former college wrestler I'm partial to this kid.

Terrance Taylor accepted a football scholarship to the University of Michigan and thought about doubling up his athletic workload there by wrestling. He was a formidable presence on high-school wrestling mats at 300 pounds and believed he could be that same force in college. Taylor was the undefeated heavyweight wrestling champion in the state of Michigan as a senior at Muskegon High and left school with an 89-6 career record.
But Taylor didn't ponder a dual-sport career long. Football was paying for his education, so he knew he couldn't make the same commitment to wrestling at Michigan as he had at Muskegon.
"I didn't want to do this part time," Taylor said. "If I was only going to give half, I was going to be a have not. I had to realize I had an opportunity to play in the NFL. If I do something stupid I could hurt myself."
Taylor became a three-year starter ayt nose tackle and a team captain in 2008. He's the strongest defensive tackle in this draft with 37 reps on the bench press at 225. The NFL likes players with wrestling backgrounds because it sharpens use of the hands and feet. The sport also teaches accountability.
"It's different from football in that if you make a mistake, it's your fault," Taylor said. "If you lose, it's your fault. There's no..."He didn't do his job or he didn't do his job.' It's all on you."

cmhargrove
04-10-2009, 12:57 PM
Terrance Taylor 6'-0" 306 DT/NT Michegan

Being a former college wrestler I'm partial to this kid.

Terrance Taylor accepted a football scholarship to the University of Michigan and thought about doubling up his athletic workload there by wrestling. He was a formidable presence on high-school wrestling mats at 300 pounds and believed he could be that same force in college. Taylor was the undefeated heavyweight wrestling champion in the state of Michigan as a senior at Muskegon High and left school with an 89-6 career record.
But Taylor didn't ponder a dual-sport career long. Football was paying for his education, so he knew he couldn't make the same commitment to wrestling at Michigan as he had at Muskegon.
"I didn't want to do this part time," Taylor said. "If I was only going to give half, I was going to be a have not. I had to realize I had an opportunity to play in the NFL. If I do something stupid I could hurt myself."
Taylor became a three-year starter ayt nose tackle and a team captain in 2008. He's the strongest defensive tackle in this draft with 37 reps on the bench press at 225. The NFL likes players with wrestling backgrounds because it sharpens use of the hands and feet. The sport also teaches accountability.
"It's different from football in that if you make a mistake, it's your fault," Taylor said. "If you lose, it's your fault. There's no..."He didn't do his job or he didn't do his job.' It's all on you."

I like Taylor too, but you have to look at him as a 2-3 year developmental guy. He has the strength, but could probably put on some more fat to be more "immovable." He has already played the true NT position, so that is a plus. However, he didn't stand out enough to be considered more than a 3rd to 5th rounder. Pick him in the fourth, let him learn for a year or two and you might have a very productive NT.

LonghornBronco
04-10-2009, 01:32 PM
Here is my mock. It fits the "Beefy player" requirement, adjusted for position of course and gives McDaniels 2 "The Player's" to try to develop.

#12) Malcom Jenkins CB/S - Ohio State
#18) Chris Wells RB - Ohio State
#48) Max Unger C - Oregon
#79) Lawrence Sidbury OLB - Richmond
#84) Alex McGee DE/NT - Purdue
#114) Rhett Bomar QB - Sam Houston State
#140) Sammie Lee Hill DE/NT - Stillman
#149) Bradley Flecher CB - Iowa
#185) Terrance Taylor DT/NT - Michigan
#225) Nick Reed RILB - Oregon
#235) Grahm Harell QB - Texas Tech