View Full Version : Rules Clarification on Instant Replay?
10-08-2007, 04:45 PM
Saw this while watching the Green Bay - Chicago game last night.
Scenario: Third and short, game tied, Bears driving with a little over 2 minutes left. The Bears run the ball and barely get enough for the first down after the measurement.
Green Bay challenges the spot of the ball. The ref, after review, moves the ball back about half a yard. After the measurement, the Bears still have enough for the first down. Green Bay is charged with a timeout.
Should Green Bay have been charged with the timeout? The announcers stated they were charged the timeout because the end result was still a first down. I disagree, since the spot of the ball was actually moved back and the ruling on the field was overturned.
Any thoughts / insight?
10-08-2007, 04:53 PM
My belief is this:
It should depend on the wording of the challenge. If the coach says "I challenge the placement of the ball," then I believe they win that challenge and should not be charged a TO.
If however, the coach says "I challenge the fact that they got enough for a first down," then, even though the ball is moved back, they still technically did not win the thing that they were challenging....so in that case, they should lose the TO.
I'm not sure the league distinguishes between those two scenarios though. I assume they don't.
10-08-2007, 05:33 PM
There are specific rules for challenging the “spot of the balls”
A challenge can be won only if the replay proves the “real” spot result in a different down or Touchdown.
If the “on field” spot was ruled a first down and the replay back the ball but not enough (still a first down) you lose the challenge.
And vice-versa, if it was ruled short, and the replay advances the ball but not enough for a 1st down.
Same goes to Touchdowns. A successful challenge must change the call form TD / No TD. Moving few inches back and forth will result in a loss of challenge.
The terminology used by coaches is irrelevant.
You can, however, ask the ref to look for other things: challenging the spot of the ball and staying / going out of bounds.
10-09-2007, 10:11 AM
They challenged that they didn't make the first down...yes the spot was moved...but was still a first down. They have to make a specific statment as to what they are challenging.
10-09-2007, 11:49 AM
It was a first down by only the slimmest of margins. They STILL might have not got the spot quite accurate. The refs still admitted a mistake, so the challenge should have been successful. If they overturn a call (like they did when they moved the ball back), the Packers shouldn't have been charged with a timeout.
Atwater His Ass
10-09-2007, 11:59 AM
I think it should be a case by case basis. In a situation where it is short yardage and you are clearly challengeing the end result (i.e first down, touchdown etc.) if that result isn't changed, you lose the challenge.
But then you have a case where say a play is ran and it is a pass caught 20 yards down the field on 1st and 10. Then the reciever runs another 40 yards, but stepped out of bounds somewhere after catching the ball and running. The play is challenged and the ball is spotted back where the receiver stepped out, say 10 yards from the catch. So you have a 30 yard spot difference, but the play is still a first down so by the above logic you still would lose that challenge and that isn't right.