PDA

View Full Version : You Speakee Chinese?


TexanBob
03-15-2005, 12:21 PM
Just thought somebody would like to know that my IE browser now asks me to download Chinese language sets on 2/3rds of these Google banner ads. I tell it "no" every time so it keeps coming back.

The Google ads then pop up with some blocks after the word Google.

Don't know what can be done about but I hate downloading crap like that which just ties up space on the hard drive.

shakenbake
03-15-2005, 01:30 PM
I'm learning to speak Chinese.

Billy Clyde Puckett
03-15-2005, 04:58 PM
I was having the same issue yesterday - I checked the box to not download any other languages and the IE pop up has stopped.

TexanBob
03-15-2005, 06:47 PM
I was having the same issue yesterday - I checked the box to not download any other languages and the IE pop up has stopped.

I was hoping not to do that in case there was a time I needed a new language but that is definitely one solution. I'm going to wait it out a couple of days first. Then I'm going to check to see if somebody in Hong Kong is hacking my computer. :)

Arkansas Bronco
03-15-2005, 07:37 PM
Having same problem myself somethin else is wrong dont think it is us ;-)

L.A. BRONCOS FAN
03-15-2005, 09:48 PM
You mean this?

http://mywebpage.netscape.com/elmer6963/charset.jpg

So it isn't just me...

Taco John
03-16-2005, 05:46 PM
I have no idea what's going on there... I'll check in with Google...

SouthStndJunkie
03-16-2005, 06:39 PM
I ate Chinese the other day.

Sesame chicken.

SSJ

alkemical
03-16-2005, 09:26 PM
i had egg foo young

REB
03-17-2005, 01:59 PM
That happened to me too the other day. I also finally just clicked on the never download language whatever and it stopped. sum ting wong?

REB

1-2-3-BRONCOS!!!!!!!

Bronx33
03-17-2005, 08:56 PM
End it all and get firefox............

Poclman
03-17-2005, 09:44 PM
http://minutillo.com/steve/weblog/images/mao-glowing.jpg

This shiat's getting scary now, TJ.

Taco John
03-18-2005, 01:01 PM
So far nothing back from Google on this... I'm not getting the error, so I'm not sure what to do without hearing back from Google.

Rock Chalk
03-18-2005, 05:58 PM
I was hoping not to do that in case there was a time I needed a new language but that is definitely one solution. I'm going to wait it out a couple of days first. Then I'm going to check to see if somebody in Hong Kong is hacking my computer. :)

If you are running XP, you dont need to worry. Click the No option and tell it to not download anymore languages. If you need another language later on for whatever reason, XP has them all and language support for all programs.

I have the East Asian character set installed because of my Japanese related work and with it comes Chinese so I have never had the problem you have but the solution is easy enough.

watermock
03-18-2005, 08:40 PM
I ate Chinese the other day.

Sesame chicken.

SSJ

I had Happy Ending, by myself. :moody:

Sodak
03-19-2005, 01:30 PM
What would you guys do if you run WinMe?

I'm not sure if I'm having the same problem, but sometimes when I click out of or on a thread a big blank box appears. Could this be the same thing?

Sodak
03-19-2005, 01:30 PM
It just happened again after the previous post.

Rock Chalk
03-21-2005, 04:48 PM
What would you guys do if you run WinMe?

I'm not sure if I'm having the same problem, but sometimes when I click out of or on a thread a big blank box appears. Could this be the same thing?
What would I do if I ran WinMe?

Go buy XP.

I had ME for about two months and it was absolutely positively without a doubt the worst piece of sh*t software ever assembled on this planet or any other planet.

Sodak
03-21-2005, 08:45 PM
What would I do if I ran WinMe?

Go buy XP.

I had ME for about two months and it was absolutely positively without a doubt the worst piece of sh*t software ever assembled on this planet or any other planet.

I've heard that. The thing is, i've never had a problem with it at all before. I run Win2000 Pro on all my other machines tho. Maybe I should put 2000 Pro on this one?

I did install the Firefox browser and it fixed, or avoids the problem, but now I'm not sure what the hell I'm doing with it. Firefox seems to load a lot slower.

Any advice?

Thanks...

alkemical
03-21-2005, 08:59 PM
2000pro isn't too bad -