PDA

View Full Version : OT: minor league MMA on tv Friday, 8/4: XFC19

mwill07
08-02-2012, 10:11 PM
9:00 Eastern (I assume 7:00 Mountain?), AXS TV (formerly HDNet).

Just braggin a little on my buddy here. Keith is a friend of mine and my ju-jitsu/kickboxing instructor. I've been working with Keith for about 2 years now, hoping he gets a good win and can find his way into the UFC. He's had chances before - he was a final alternate for TUF a few seasons ago, flew to Vegas and everything, things just haven't worked out.

Not mentioned below, but I'm also buddies with Kevin Forant, fighting on the same card. I'm really looking forward to it, it's gonna be a good show.

Rock Hill MMA fighter gets career break with national fight (http://www.heraldonline.com/2012/08/02/4160869/huge-opportunity-this-friday.html)

By Bret McCormick — bmccormick@heraldonline.com

ROCK HILL — The warning signs were there for Keith Richardson. He was going to explode.

It was 2007 and Richardson, recently out of the Marines, needed an outlet for his pent-up aggression. The Rock Hill resident and Long Island native ironically found peaceful respite in the barely contained brutality of mixed martial arts, better known as MMA.

“I was kind of having a little bit of a problem adjusting, I guess,” said Richardson, 28. “As soon as we got back, it was a month later and I was out of the Marine Corps. I was fresh out of war.”

Five years later, the former York Comprehensive High School state champion wrestler is readying for his biggest professional MMA fight yet, Friday, against Lawson McClure at Charlotte’s Grady Cole Center. The 145-pound event, part of Xtreme Fighting Championships 19, will be nationally televised live on AXS TV starting at 7 p.m.

“I’ve had a couple of opportunities to almost land myself in the Ultimate Fighting Championship, and this is another big opportunity,” Richardson said recently at Modern Warrior MMA, the Rock Hill gym he co-owns with Patrick Sweet.