PDA

View Full Version : Jim Leonhard, New York Jets will go separate ways. Should we sign him? Yes or No.

Bronco Rob
07-19-2012, 06:40 AM
The New York Jets have decided not to re-sign free-agent safety Jim Leonhard, the New York Post reported on Wednesday, citing a source.

Leonhard was a key member of coach Rex Ryan's defense, but he suffered a torn patellar tendon in his right knee in December, which prematurely ended his season in the final year of his contract.

The Jets signed veteran free-agent safeties LaRon Landry and Yeremiah Bell this offseason.

Leonhard, 29, has also played for the Buffalo Bills and the Baltimore Ravens.

"I'm a free agent right now, hopefully in the next few weeks I get some workouts and get a contract," he told WEAU-TV. "The knee is feeling great and I am ready to go. I am getting antsy, football is right around the corner and I donít have a team, kind of getting antsy ready to get back on that field."

http://www.nfl.com/news/story/09000d5d82aa8189/article/jim-leonhard-new-york-jets-will-go-separate-ways-report-says

Rumor has it that we were trying to get him a couple of years ago. He did a great job quarterbacking that team's defense. Notice how much of a drop they've taken since he's been injured.

:thumbs:

TheElusiveKyleOrton
07-19-2012, 06:48 AM
I wouldn't mind, at least for the depth. He'd be a solid signing, depending on the cap number.

Bigdawg26
07-19-2012, 07:01 AM
Unless he bulks up and plays DT. I'm good!

ludo21
07-19-2012, 07:05 AM
vet safety would be nice to have

spdirty
07-19-2012, 07:10 AM
Absolutely, I definitely don't trust Moore, and both our 2nd year safeties could learn behind a solid vet like Leonhard.

Requiem
07-19-2012, 07:13 AM
We already signed Mike Adams. No.

cmhargrove
07-19-2012, 07:28 AM