PDA

View Full Version : OT: Scientists find new particle, probably the Higgs

UltimateHoboW/Shotgun
07-04-2012, 05:26 AM
Real science!!!
GENEVA/LONDON (Reuters) - Scientists at Europe's CERN research center have found a new subatomic particle that could be the Higgs boson, the basic building block of the universe.

"We have indeed discovered a particle consistent with the Higgs boson," John Womersley, head of a British public research body, told journalists and scientists in London on Wednesday.

"These results mark a significant breakthrough in our understanding of the fundamental laws that govern the universe."

Joe Incandela, spokesman for one of the two teams hunting for the Higgs particle told an audience at CERN near Geneva: "This is a preliminary result, but we think it's very strong and very solid."

CERN's director general Rolph Heuer said: "As a layman, I would say I think we have it."

Addressing the scientists assembled in the CERN auditorium, Heuer asked: "Would you agree?" They burst into applause.

More here.................
http://news.yahoo.com/scientists-unveil-milestone-higgs-boson-hunt-044513533.html

DivineLegion
07-04-2012, 07:29 AM
Lol! I read an article like this every week, yet the physics community that doesn't spend most of its time smashing particles together at the worlds super colliders remains sceptical. Why?

Dr. Broncenstein
07-04-2012, 08:09 AM
Lol! I read an article like this every week, yet the physics community that doesn't spend most of its time smashing particles together at the worlds super colliders remains sceptical. Why?

Probably because skepticism is the basis of science.

Bacchus
07-04-2012, 08:40 AM
Scientists are stoopid. That particle only exists because Tebow put it there.

Kaylore
07-04-2012, 08:40 AM

Hilarious! Well at least he's skeptical of the skeptics.

DivineLegion
07-04-2012, 09:06 AM