PDA

View Full Version : New Broncos Coordinator Jack Del Rio says Denver Expects to have a Top-10 Defense

Pages : [1] 2

Bronco Rob
05-18-2012, 01:38 PM
New Broncos Coordinator Jack Del Rio says Denver Expects to have a Top-10 Defense

May 18, 2012 – 7:15 am by Brad Gagnon

Jack Del Rio is a defensive coordinator again, and in Denver he has two pretty awesome pass-rushing toys at his disposal — Von Miller and Elvis Dumervil. Del Rio also isn’t complaining about the addition of Peyton Manning, who should help keep pressure off of his young defense.

http://i1198.photobucket.com/albums/aa444/Paxil_Rose/jack1.jpg

Jack Del Rio joined Evans and Klatt on KKFN in Denver to talk about his new role as defensive coordinator with the Broncos, his expectations for next season, what he wants to see improve and the dynamic of coaching the defense of a team that has Peyton Manning on offense.

On if he views this job as a stopgap between head-coaching gigs:

“Obviously I was a head coach for a good part of the last nine years, and maybe some day again, but right now my focus is entirely on helping this defense and helping this organization win football games.”

On what he expects from this defense:

“We’re looking for guys who are gonna give it up for us and give it up for each other and we’re gonna build that mentality every day in practice. So that process has begun. We’ve established high expectations, we expect to be a top-10, if not better, defense. We’ve got a lot of work to do to get there but that’s what our goals are.”

On the areas he feels they need to improve the most: