PDA

View Full Version : Broncos should pick everything at NFL draft, except QB

Mile High Mojoe
01-26-2012, 05:03 PM
http://www.denverpost.com/woodysmailbag/ci_19822168

Woody gets it. Pick up a veteran free agent QB. Don't waste a pick on a QB in this draft. That is all.

OBF1
01-26-2012, 05:22 PM
Is Tebow changing what it means to be a Broncos fan? There are Broncos fans who know Gerald Willhite and Dennis Smith. And then there are fans who know Tim Tebow, but have no idea Von Miller or Ed McCaffery ever existed.
---Justin Stygles
Justin, as you may know, I've been covering the Broncos since 1974 as a beat writer and columnist. Broncos fans have changed dramatically in that time, maybe moreso than any other city in the entire league. About a quarter of the cities are young male crazies (I give you the Jets, for instance), then the die-hard blue-collar crowd (Steelers and Bears) and the casuals (Chargers, Dolphins) and the and Raiders fans, which don't need explaining, and newbies (Texans, Titans, Tampas).

The Broncos don't fall into any of those categories. I always thought that Denver had a sort of college crowd because everyone here was from someplace else, and they didn't have their college team nearby, so they adopted the Broncos. But that's not the same anymore. And so many of those early fans have retired and given their tickets to their kids (who don't care as much) or sold them to people who didn't have the long-time loyaly, and weren't there when the Broncos were struggling in the 1960s or just beginning to win in the 1970s.